Reclaim delegated SP and revoke dMania app permissions

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

dMania has been shut down as a platform. @zombee decided to shut the site down in less than 24 hours after announcing his intent.

I'm asking for everyone to please resteem this if possible to try to allow everyone who is affected to view it. Not everyone looks at the trending/new/hot pages.

I wrote a detailed post here on why I thought that @zombee wasn't abusing the community. While I still think my analysis is sound. I agree that @ned removing the SP delegation from @dmania was the right thing to do. Specifically after attempting to view the dMania website this morning, and seeing that it was already shut down.

For anyone who is wondering if I appreciate the irony of writing an entire post defending someone. Then the very next day I end up writing a post on how to remove that person's work from your accounts. Yes... Yes, I do appreciate that.

This is what we were greeted with this morning when attempting to visit dMania.
https://dmania.lol/2018-05-02_at_11.59_AM.jpg

Pissed is an understatement...

You want to shut down the site?

Fine... I don't think you should keep a website up you don't want to work on anymore.

You can't handle the constant barrage of insults about dMania?

Fine... Criticism is hard especially on the internet. If you can't tune out the haters, or distance your mindset from criticism while running a platform. That's ok too.

What is not understandable is shutting down a website that people still have delegation to, before they can get it back. I get that the site couldn't be left up forever, but you should give people longer than one day to find your post, and then realize they need to un-delegate.

This is directly screwing over people who supported a platform that you were building that they believed in. No-one should directly punish the good users just because that person is butt-hurt.

How do I get my SP back?

Anyway, for all the users who have been left out in the rain. That might not have had the time or realized that they needed to remove delegation in less than 24 hours. This method might help you get your SP back.

I haven't been able to use this method, because I had already un-delegated. However, it is the same method you use to un-delegate from smartsteem, so in theory, it should work.

Please take the web link I have included below, and change the {userhere} to your username. Then pop it into your browser's URL area.

https://steemconnect.com/sign/delegate-vesting-shares?delegator={userhere}&delegatee=dmania&vesting_shares=0%20SP

An example with me as a user.

https://steemconnect.com/sign/delegate-vesting-shares?delegator=datapotomus&delegatee=dmania&vesting_shares=0%20SP

You should then get redirected to the steemconnect URL. Like my example below.
2018-05-02_at_10.47_AM.jpg

After that, you should be able to log into steemconnect to get your delegation back. Once you log in you should see a tx, and block confirmation.

Please Note: It takes seven days for you to get your steem power back.

You can also check Steemworld to see if your SP has been successfully un-delegated. On the delegations out tab, you should no longer have dmania.

Example below
https://steemworld.org/@datapotomus 2018-05-02_at_10.33_AM.jpg

Remove the dMania authorization from your account

You might not realize this right away, but if you used dMania, it still has access to post things on your account's behalf. You probably want to remove this as well.

Login to steemconnect:
https://v2.steemconnect.com/login

Once you log into steemconnect you will want to click on authorized apps.
2018-05-02_at_11.51_AM.jpg
You will then want to revoke the dmania.app from your account. Also if you are supprised at other apps in your account, you can also just revoke all.
2018-05-02_at_11.53_AM.jpg
You will then get a confirmation page to remove it.
2018-05-02_at_11.55_AM.jpg

This also no longer allows the dmania account to post on your behalf.

You can then see in steemd that you will no longer have dmania listed as an authorized app. Here is an example of zombee's, because I no longer have mine authorized.
https://steemd.com/@zombee
You will want to make sure that this one is no longer an authority.
image.png

What did I learn?

You can skip this part if you want (just some introspection).

I learned that everyone is a dick.

No, Just kidding...

What I learned is not burning bridges all around is still the best policy for me personally. If you can't handle the burden walk away gracefully. Especially when you had a community of people behind you.

I also learned that I loved becoming a vocal member of an online community (for how short it was). Right now, I might just go back to writing underwear reviews. Then, I might be back in search of another community like dMania.

Sort:  

There are alt to dmania:
https://decentmemes.com and https://memeit.lol/

So he shut it down simply because he lost steempower delegation from Ned?

I don’t know. I’m going with not being able to handle people on the internet.

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

smartsteem payout in the amount of $187 STU, $393 USD.
postpromoter payout in the amount of $99 STU, $209 USD.
promobot payout in the amount of $62 STU, $130 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $347 STU, $731 USD before curation, with approx. $87 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @datapotomus and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Had no idea it shut down. I only posted a few times there. Never delegated anything. Didnt make much on memes there but it did feel like some favoritism was going in there. Thanks for the share, resteeming.

damn. But it is clear that the community requires a steemit9gag...
It is obvious given the number of dmania posts...
I, for one, will keep my delegation one more week. Wait and see if it will come back with a fresh perspective

Welcome to Memeit -- https://memeit.lol

It is necessary, but now I think that if the reward system is not refined for the choice of good memes we will not go anywhere, we all want a 9gag here, but a pure one, where laughter abounds more than the desire to get upvote .

very true. maybe mixed with steem plus: using its human/bot/spammer tag

Somehow, I still have 5sp there and had no eye dear it was gone... I need to stay active. Thanks for the information.

Thank you for making this post. I did not know that dmania went offline. I did revoke authorization now thanks to your nice little tutorial. I will resteem this because there will probably more people not aware of what is going on and how to get back SP and revoke authorization.

Quite an interesting and useful content. It was an enjoyable read. Thanks for sharing

Awesome post!! Keep it up and check out THIS POST as well as I have something similar.

You got a 13.37% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @datapotomus!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63042.71
ETH 3175.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81