I'm interviewing Bitcoin Cash's Roger Ver in a "First on Steemit" segment

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

maxresdefault.jpg

I've been trying out the idea of publishing certain content FIRST to Steemit before it hits my other platforms (YouTube, podcast, tv, radio, etc). Tomorrow I'll be interviewing Roger Ver of Bitcoin Cash fame, and I plan to make it another "first on Steemit" segment.

What questions do YOU want asked of Roger Ver? What Steemit-related topics should I bring up? We will certainly discuss Bitcoin Cash being added to Coinbase, but I'm open to hearing ideas from the Steemit community.

I hope to get as many interesting questions as possible from Steemit for what I think will be a compelling interview!

Sort:  

Since he hates censorship so much (as most of us do who used to read r/bitcoin) ask him to start posting more on Steem as well since he already has an account here. :)

@rogerkver

That's great to hear! @rogerkver
I mostly lurk on Reddit nowadays but I appreciate r/btc's open moderation log and use it a lot more than the other subreddits.

I'll mention Steemit for sure!

@davidpakman just say Bcash

It was a frenzy when it was added to coinbase.
This guy pushes it a lot.
Wait and see.

Certainly

Can you ask Roger Ver what his views are on the looming battle between anonymous cryptocurrencies and governments?

Ask him if the Steem blockchain is actually not closer to "Satoshi's vision", compared to Bitcoin or Bitcoin Cash.

  • People using their computer to "mine" money ✓
  • Zero transaction fees ✓
  • Scalable ✓

And actually way easier to use!

I would be interested in hearing his answer to that. @rogerkver is on Steemit, but hasn't used his account in months.

Very cool, I'll try to work this in. Thanks!

I think we should stop wondering what Satoshi would want and instead consider how to improve upon what we have.

I agree. But it is something @rogerkver brings up often when he explains the reason he co-created Bitcoin Cash.

So I would be interested in hearing his answer. He will probably say the Steem blockchain too centralised or no limit on the amount of coins. And that't be a fair answer. But is that really a problem though?

He will definetly answer with inflation.
I would like him to tell us how is BCH better that other coins that already don't have a block limit, are cheaper and have best privacy than both BCH and BTC.
I believe there are better alternative coins for the role of cash than any of the Bitcoin Family Coins so I'm curious as to why he is not promoting one of them against BTC instead of BCH.

That will probably be his answer, I agree.

But then I agree with @acidyo who commented here too. Then he should at least use the Steemit website for posting content, as it is censorship-resistant.

That's still a good reason, I guess...

This is an important question to answer. It's one that's been popping up a lot as of late.

I could give my own reasonings here (not that I think it's the best necessarily), but it would probably be best to hear it from Roger himself.

Like us other libertarians, he's probably going to be critical about the inflation and who holds the keys to that from a money perspective, but Steem isn't a state and it isn't just about money after all. It's a different concept as compared to Bitcoin.

I used to be more critical about inflation too. But after doing more studying, I think there is not always something wrong with it.

For example, the Steem blockchain needs inflation to be able to function.

More important than inflation itself, is who the money is going to and how transparently this is done.

I read this book about the topic recently, and is certainly worth reading.

Sure. It's a baked in cost. That isn't necessarily a bad thing, but if it's paid as a form of extortion and you get nothing or perhaps worse in return, then it's a problem. At least one of those things happens when a state is in charge of it.

In the case of Steem we are simply voluntarily choosing to use a certain product.

I do agree with all of that!

Yes. Fiat can be printed to infinity. If a coin can be printed to infinity, it loses one of its key distinctions from fiat.

There is a difference between having some inflation and "printed to infinity".

One big question is if there's an incentive to print to infinity. With states it certainly becomes a lot easier, because the citizens don't necessarily have the power to oppose getting ripped off.

With a different system, the incentives might theoretically be such that everyone loses out equally and clearly so. Then at least there's much less to fear, even if the risk is not entirely mitigated.

There is little wondering really. He said it in the white paper and later on the forums. But yes, we can't rely on him to tell us what will be best. That's up for us to decide.

Hey in this post I wish you nice dreams my friends 😘🤗😊😇 Help me little if you have time follow me upvote I will do same back just to make us happy let's vote for us❤check my profile ❤❤💋💋https://steemit.com/life/@justynatina/sleep-good-my-friends-follow-and-upvote

I'd be interested to know why he feels the need to bad mouth the competition. It seems to me both btc and bch would do better working together than being at such odds all the time. I'm no expert but yesterdays fiasco smelled of a coordinated attack (the timing was too perfect to be a coincidence) and now the entire crypto community is suffering for it. I get they want to be number one but.....seems to me performance and unity would go further towards achieving that than this constant antagonism.

Oh, and great get on doing it here first. That really is a coup you're pulling off for the benefit of all of us. Seriously, thank you!!!

The two tokens are being traded for one another and both have good liquidity, so it's not strange if one rises when the other falls considering that they are now working on different principles. People try to swing trade both or to hedge their bets.

"Bad mouthing" can take many forms. For years now BTC developers and supporters have badmouthed dissenters, censored debate and manipulated the public in many ways while letting the blocks get ful in spite of this not being necessary and going against the plan of Satoshi. It continues.

The difference is that blockchains are a competitive space. When the product is not delivered, others fill the deman.

I would ask him if he thinks social media and a currency can be one, and actually why they should be separate at all?
I think the future is that your identity is kind of mixed with your assets...

@davidpakman this great! He's great to watch, there's always new information to be learned from his interviews. Hope to come up with a juicy question! Best wishes...and Steem on. - @splendorhub

Wow. I will be very excited to see this. What a divisive figure, this should be amazing to see. There is going to be a lot of hatred and then a lot of love.

You should try to get Andreas Antonopoulos, that would be HUGGGGGGEEE!

I have actually tweeted to Andreas twice offering an interview but so far haven't heard back.

Wow. That would be soooooo cool. He is such a beloved character in this space. Thanks for killing it David. We love you.

That would be great though. As your channel grows even more he will respond. That would be so great

david Happy Birthday every year and you are fine and ask you a gift by the way .... Thank you

There are more people that know about Andreas than Roger and Steemit combined.
In the case of AA I would consider it a win if you could make AA just mention Steemit.
That would really be great for the platform IMO.

Awesome opportunity, resteemed.

Less of a question, and more of a comment: Roger might do well to attempt to look more reasonable than the opposition on merits other than technical grounds. The mudslinging on all slides is divisive to those who don't understand the debate, which is over 99.9% of the world's population.

The censorship and propaganda necessary in places like r/Bitcoin don't need any embellishment or snark thrown in - they speak for themselves to any reasonable audience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66455.53
ETH 3036.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67