Sitting This One Out

in #steemit6 years ago

The one downfall to finding a job that you love doing, is when you sustain an injury on the job and are unable to do that job the following year. This fire season has been the toughest one I have ever endured, and I haven’t stepped foot on the fire line once.

A066BE00-274F-4D58-9886-F52C3CFE17DF.jpeg
(Photo taken by me)

That picture was taken the morning of my last day on fire September 11, 2017. Two hours later I would be walked off the mountains of Montana with a dislocated shoulder.

4D760935-9C52-4C62-9E11-D655D9B4A575.jpeg
(Photo taken by me, Dollar Ridge Fire in Utah an hour east of my home town).

Since then this is the closest I have gotten to a fire this season do to that injury. The depression I have experienced has been harder than I thought it would be. Like I said in my last post I have never in my life talked about my downs with anyone. But, I started this blog to get out of my comfort zone and so that’s exactly what I am doing. With the help of this... Haha.

image.jpg
(Just your average selfie taken by yours truly)

There is a VERY big and happy thing happening in August for me though that has kept my head above water this summer and that is the fact that I get to marry my best friend!!

25FA78AC-F348-454C-962F-1686EB43B828.jpeg
(Another selfie, your welcome)

Getting all this off my chest will hopefully remove the cloud of gloom that has been following me around and help me actually be able to right more posts like my first one! Thanks to all who read this. And any and all feedback is more than welcome

Sort:  

This kinda reminds me of my husband’s story. His original career was in fire management, and he loved the work, but left it because good career opportunities were harder to come by and it was quite isolating. To this day, he still wishes there was a way he could do that kind of work, but it makes no financial or logistical sense. We think he’s a bit of a pyro and likes to see things burn. Lol

During this time, he sustained a shoulder injury. It didn’t seem like anything serious at first, because he went straight to the gym afterwards. It’s become a life-long injury and there’s not a day he doesn’t have discomfort from it. It’s just something he lives with and doesn’t complain even though I know it bothers him. I know how serious a shoulder injury can be if it’s not properly cared for. Hopefully, you get through this time and it heals, so you won’t have continued setbacks. Good luck, and the selfie with your lady is lovely. Marrying your best friend is a solid strategy for happy—I’d know! Congrats! :)

I can understand getting out it at a certain point but I feel like that point is a long ways away for me! I’m hoping to be ready to go by next fire season for sure! Thank you for your kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60