34. Steemit gathering

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

7C3D65C6-09A0-43A6-BB4A-0AC5C493B3AF.JPG

For 100 days, I'm going to publish a plus-minus hundred-word post a day on Steemit. These 100 posts will be the insights, routines, and habits of living a better life.


Okay. This is NOT something that is going to change your life for the better.

Instead, this is my experience attending the first ever Steemit event in Malaysia. I got to know about Steemit last year when I was researching about cryptocurrencies but I never took the initiative to check it out. For me, there was just too much noise about the crypto world in Steemit.

This changed until I first read a Facebook post (yes, Facebook. Click here in case you forget what Facebook is) by @maverickfoo about his experience posting, voting, and earning cryptocurrencies on Steemit. And I decided to check it out again. Then I stumbled upon @kadavy and @neilstrauss (writers I'm following outside Steemit) and it only made me more eager to try Steemit out.

IMG_0682.PNG

Writing and posting on Steemit was very different from writing and posting on Quora and my personal blog. It's fun and I believe it's another platform for creatives that hold a very high potential in the future.

The problem is, like writing anywhere on the Internet, the feeling of isolation creeps in.

That's also why when I got to know about the Steemit gathering in Kuala Lumpur, I quickly hop in with any hesitation.

Now, enough for the backstory. And lets the photos speak:

.
.

On the left is my mobile home screen. Because I'm living in Johor, I've to take a bus at this time in order to get the Steemit gathering on time. I guess I was lucky because the event was organized on the afternoon so I still have time to travel.

.

IMG_0684.JPG
.

Opening announcement made by the man @bitrocker2020

IMG_0691.JPG

.

First burger (and event) paid with Steem!

7C3D65C6-09A0-43A6-BB4A-0AC5C493B3AF.JPG

.

Event held at Big Hug Burger

IMG_0685.JPG

IMG_0686.JPG

.

Amazing folks around (more who I didn't manage to take selfie with)

IMG_0696.JPG

IMG_0694.JPG

IMG_0699.JPG

.

IMG_0710.JPG

Frankly, I'm not a photo person so these were all the photos I took during the event. It was good to meet and mingle with fellow Steemians offline—to learn more about people whose we read and connect every day online.

Since I started writing and creating content two years ago before discovering Steemit, it's never a primary platform for my work.

It is a cool platform for me to build a new group of audiences besides other mainstream channels. And it's eye-opening for me to learn about how others see Steemit as a platform and even as a career, and the motivation behind every person in the room.

This is the best example of how a simple idea grows and expand to more than just an idea, but a belief and movement.

My experience with the first Steemit event is GREAT. The only thing that bothered me was my bus got canceled and delayed during my trip back to Johor. A supposedly 4-hour trip back took me 7 hours, which is also why it took me one more day to write and publish this post.


PS: I'll be back with the 100-day post tomorrow. Thanks for reading.

.

steem.gif

Sort:  

Cool to finally have met you in person that day, Dean! Keep it Steemin!

Thanks @bensimblog. It's my pleasure to meet you in person too :)

So glad that I could get to know you in person! I was slightly nervous while we were getting our drinks and you didn't mind me being clumsy! Hope we meet again, or I can stalk you in Steemit starting from today, no worries HAHA.

and yes, I was right!! I do remember reading your post, I went to scroll your past posts and I saw I did upvote some of them!

No worries. Thanks for reading and upvoting. Looking forward to meeting you again :)

Thanks for coming all the way for the event bro ... Was great to meet everyone in person . Sorry couldn't spend more time with every individual . Thanks again buddy

Ha! Thanks for organizing the gathering. It was truly awesome!

Good to have met you @deanyeong. Hoping to see you in future events where we can catch up more. Time is tooo short!

Glad to meet you in person @zord189. Definitely look forward to meeting you again in the future. Let's touch base again and catch up.

that should be a good development, be encouraged and avoid distractions

Aww man @deanyeong! I just missed you again! I wasn't able to attend yesterday, guess we'll meet again next time then :D

ahhh... sorry didnt managed to catch up with you.. hope to see you again

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @deanyeong to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Hey @deanyeong! Thanks for making the trip up to attend the gathering. Really appreciate your effort to come and your resolve to blog consistently for the next 100 days. Keep it up!

So cool that the burger is paid with Steem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74