Deprecated data and HELP/FAQ ?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

deprecated data is a great waste of time

to say the least,...

I am very enthusiastic about the Steemit project, and I am happy to find so many answers to questions I have in so many different postings of other passionate Steemers who thus get rewarded for their help and technical expertise, ... but then I find it more and more concerning that much of the specific data oftentimes is no longer valid.

example : mining steem

A few weeks ago I wanted to find out about "Steemit mining" and read oen article after the other and even started to download software etc., huge time invest, ... when after a while I realized that for some reason it wouldn't work as promised and described in the postings, so I went back and kept on searching and finally found out that Mining was no longer available for Steem. I had found the hint in a very small comment at the very long list of comments to a steem mining posting. At that point I had already invested around 2 hours, which i could have saved if there was a simple Steem-FAQ or Help subsection as I try to illustrate in the following selfmade image:

Then, much later, I found the link to the FAQ in the Hamburger menu at the right side, but obviously all those people commenting and discussing in the postings hadn't sen that link as well, i guess. They could have saved a lot of time just guessing, and: since noone referred to the FAQs, it seems even a bit more as if I am not the only one overseeing that link. So I stick to my suggestion :)

Here's the currently implemented link:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65