ATTENTION! APPLE can delete your password! How I lost private key

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit has the rule (actually 7 rules) - do not lose your password. I’m not an idiot. I really thought that my password was in safe. MacBook deleted my private key, also I lost 130 SBD pending payout.

RTR2ZFTV 4.jpg

There is a bug when you are trying to relogin or send money. Safari puts in a new generated password instead your private key. Safari sees login form as registration form. If you accidentally click on it, your private key will be deleted from keychain on macOS.

My friend have the same bug on MacBook Air. So I wrote to apple’s support. They told, that it’s impossible to recover my key.

I posted video on Steemit Open Mic contest, but my account is not avalible anymore. Now I can see my profile but I can not access it, it’s very sad. Thanks APPLE!

Снимок экрана 2017-12-29 в 16.56.02.png

Do not believe apple's keychain. Do not allow apple to keep your private keys. Keep your keys and passwords in safe. Be careful and do not make my mistake.

And of course do not forget the first rule of steemit - DO NOT LOSE YOUR PASSWORD :)))

Sort:  

wow we all need to be very careful with our private keys guys.

@javybar, totally agree. The main reason of this post was to remind about that! :)

Is this the same acct u r talking abt?
If yes then how did u recover key?
If no then how come u r at this level?
I m asking all this out of curiosity. Pls do not get offended.

Sad story m8 :(. Thats why iam not using any apple product .

Congratulations @denis.savisko3, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 8143 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2712.40. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

It sounds like you were the one that deleted your key, not apple. That sucks, I'm sorry.

Of course it's my fault. Also I had to keep it in safer place, I don't tell that It's not my fault. BUT, have you seen the video? Apple propose me to renew the password, it wasn't registration form!!!
I KEEP MY PRIVAT KEY IN APPLE KEYCHAIN, BUT APPLE REWRITE IT BEYOND RETRIEVE, MAN.
I JUST WANT TO WARN PEOPLE ABOUT THIS

What an experience!

I'm with you, bro. Let's make this post to see as much people as possible!

Thank you for support, I really appreciate it!

Do not let remember any code on your computer... this must everyone know. ( Just use the posting code freely ) Put it on two different memory sticks, If you can not do anything else quickly. I've seen a lot of this stuff here and it's hard to read every time.

Yes, agree. It's my fault that I didn't write it in another places. But I wanted to warn people to not keep it in apple keychain. Not considering privatkeys, another passwords I used to keep in keychain on Mac. I think lots of people do it

Yes . And Everything can not be perfect, but this how we learn.
I hope you get wast your new page up.

You're welcome to ask any questions, I'd like to answer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74