Can Steemit prevent from Social Cooling ?

in #steemit6 years ago

Hello Steemians,
I’m a French student who is studying new technology and this is my first post.

I’m currently writing my master thesis on Steemit. I’m convince that Steemit is the future of social media and that is the solution against social cooling.

I’m doing a quantitative study to mesure the level of trust in steemit if you want to help me here is the link : http://edhec.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_2aczBYRMhCw6EQJ (it takes about 40 seconds)

Have you ever heard about Social Cooling?

florian-perennes-396212-unsplash.jpg

Social cooling is a concept theorized by Tijman Shep, a Dutch researcher. According to him, we are increasingly vigilant online and proceed to self-censorship because we feel observed and we know that our data is used. The digital reputation and the image we leave on the internet are paramount nowadays. Thus Tijman describes the situation as a quest for conformism to avoid missing any kind of opportunity.

The social cooling will soon be studied in large scale in China by 2020. The government will set up a rating system of its citizens based on the data it recovers on them. For example, if a Chinese citizen has too many bad friends it will be more difficult for him to get a loan. Their only solutions to get a good rating and access to good jobs for example will be to follow the code of good conduct provided by the government.

jun17-15-hbr-nicholas-blechman-data.jpg

This last example is extreme but I think it illustrates the social cooling pushed to the maximum.
This phenomenon is impossible to quantify for the moment and it affects in my opinion only people who are aware and sensitive to the exploitation of data. In my opinion, this type of behavior remains a minority, however a loss of confidence in social networks could lead to social cooling on a large scale and this will be the death of social media. If no one creates content, the network will no longer be powered and the interest of users for the platform will gradually fade.

Steemit is not analyzing your data because it’s not their business model, in my opinion there is more privacy on Steemit, what is your opinion ?

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @devidev! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

I am so happy that you are here, devidev! Wish you a very happy journey here in this loving and caring community :) Life is good!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU


Welcome to Steemit @devidev!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Thank for the informations @intro.bot !

hi @devidev welcome here in steem and good luck .

Welcome @devidev I'm glad to know you're studying Steemit. I also think that Steemit is better than any other social media platform because bring us the opportunity of being creative people and to earn money on the way.

I would like to invite you to the Steem Schools Bussiness Movement and learn with us to grow faster in this platform, a bussiness platform.

Hi @dinaudic ! The study is on it way i will share my result in another post
I've just joined your movement :)

It's actually already in effect in China. It's not mandatory yet, as far as I know, but big businesses are jumping on the opportunity, even publicly shaming individuals on billboards that don't, say, pay a bill in time or jaywalk.

I hope that we will never have this in Europe. Recently i've read that 1 million of Chinese are forbidden to take the plane or the train because they have a bad grade ..

Steemit is better than Facebook and Google and Microsoft and Apple and others which kill us and depress us and we are getting phone cancer and many big bad problems and we are dying and getting sick and sad and we must do things now to go against it or we will be worse than the disorders seen in India. #FreeTommy

I also think that Steemit could be a solution to that problem ! Do not hesitate to answer to my survey it will definitely help me in my study on Steemit http://edhec.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_2aczBYRMhCw6EQJ :)

Can you put your survey on Steemit?

@devidev, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Thanks for the upvote @introduce.bot !

Excellent post! Thank you for sharing with us your research project. I'm happy to upvote and resteem your introduction post and welcome to steemit:) by @cheneats

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thanks @newbieresteemday ! Have a nice day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74