How Steemit could revolutionize our Education system

in #steemit8 years ago

Did you know that our education system remained mostly the same since 18th century? Even with all the innovations of 21st century, the core of our education system dates back to Prussia. It was innovative back in 18th century, however nowadays it fails to deliver the required knowledge and skills to many students all around the world. Please, do not think that I am against education, or learning, because I sure am not. Just hang on with me a bit more.  

Have you ever thought why “kinder garden” was called as it is? It is also from Prussia, and the idea was to raise children, like plants. The goal of this system is to raise good and obedient citizens and soldiers, but it does not welcome creativity, enthusiasm and disobedience.  Moreover, what is really valued in our education system is not knowledge, but grades and scores we get in class. That is why cheating and plagiarism happens regularly. That topic was debated many times, and it seems to me that @dan and @ned have found a solution.

The project that brought success to Apple Inc., was its Apple II computer. It was extremely successful because of its importance to the development of education sector, something even its founders did not predict.

Well, what value does Steemit brings into the education sector? In my understanding, it is simply immeasurable.  From my personal experience, I can tell that most if not all of the theories, formulas, study cases and etc. can be found online. Almost everything I know today, I know only because I wanted to learn it, while some classes where I scored “A” did not even leave me with much memories.

My point is, if you are interested in a something genuinely, there is no way you would take a shortcut, such as cheating and plagiarism. Also, if you really want to learn something, you can do it by yourself to some degree, but there are always confusing parts in any field, and you will have some questions.

That’s where Steemit comes in. As we all know, we have a lot of enthusiastic experts from many areas over here, and many of them are eager to share their knowledge. What that means is that I can research any subject I would like to educate myself in (any formulas, theories, case studies), and learn it for myself. Then I could write an essay about my findings and get some critique from experts.

That is basically the same as submitting your essay to a professor, but instead of one supervisor, you have potentially dozens. Moreover, instead of paying for the course, you get paid for posting? That is check-and-mate in my eyes. It would be great to have here more professionals on Steemit with their expertise and knowledge. Fortunately, that’s inevitable, as the platform grows larger.

Let me know what you think, I am curious what you think about my ideas. 

Sort:  

Education is going online in a big, big way. Love what the Khan Academy folks are doing, particularly their commitment to keep it all free.

Steemit certainly has the potential, but it has a long way to go before there are enough experts in the community. Right now, you'll be hard pressed to find anyone interested in a slightly niche subject, let alone an expert for a specific subject.

As the steemit population grows, the expert base will also grow.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.1 and reading ease of 67%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56