Powering Down Should Be The Toughest Decision You Have Taken In Years.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I found myself having nightmares because of ceaseless contemplation to power down in order to meet some very necessary and disturbing financial obligations. I have heard several persons talk and write about powering down and why it should be the last resort for any steemian, but in my case, It was the first and last resort as I had nowhere else to turn.


Powering down from 132.300 hard earned steem to the current 80.404 steem is the hardest decision I have taken in years


SOURCE

I have never been thrown into a state of helplessness than It so happened recently. It all started few weeks ago, soon after I was done organizing my first steemit breakthrough workshop where I spent much to make it a resounding success (See evidences HERE, HERE and HERE ). Part of what I did was rolling out those steemit-promotion materials as pictured in those linked posts above as also shown below:

INVITATION CARD TO THE WORKSHOP VENUE

About 300 copies of this was printed.
IMG-20180223-WA0009.jpg


SHIRTS FOR THE EVENT

Four (4) of these shirts were printed because of lack of support.

IMG-20180228-WA0006.jpg

AT ONE OF THE PUBLICITIES

IMG_20180301_103519.jpg

PERSONAL STEEMIT BUSINESS CARD

About two hundred copies (200) of this card was printed.


HEY! I BURNT MY HANDS SLIGHTLY and then the creditors came calling.

The only regret I had was that I had to power down to settle debts. Aside this, I had joy and happiness untold, because very many persons has heard of steemit through my little effort.

When I began to analyse, I soon discovered I had brought sixty (60) persons to steemit through the steemit breakthrough workshop, daily distribution of my business card and even with my Steemit community group on whatsapp with twenty one (21) members.

Screenshot_2018-04-25-00-52-50.png

Even though I barely got something tangible from the seven (7) steem I was getting weekly from power down, I still continued because I was pretty sure a series of power down would be enough to settle my bills.

Powering down has very many grave consequences both to you and t the Stemit community generally. Very many times when I remebered the above described power down saga, I bite my thumb. Upon grasping the full importance of holding much steem power, coupled with seeing people power up or ivesting in Steem daily, I quickly vowed never to power down for two years no matter the situation.

To Personal account: you must have known this (if you have been active on steemit for 5 months). If you are new on steemit, you must know that powering down has a grave consequence on your Steemit account.

  • That powering down reduces you voting power, which automatically reduces your respect from your post readers/loyalists.
  • That powering down dashes your hope of becoming a dolphin or a whale soonest.
  • Power down reduces the amount of vest you have
  • Powering down will definitely make you regret when those who held theirs will be rewarded later....I got this Idea from @calaber24p 's post two years ago Why I Have Decided To Stop Powering Down My Steem Power For The Long Term

    To steemit generally, powering down has some consequences and I have vowed never to be a party to engaging in an activity that will bring down the community. We need investors on steemit (I.E. people that will put in their monies into steemit and watch it grow.), and powering down is a minus to that goal. Aside this, I believe strongly that there are other consequences that powering down has on Steemit as a community, Please feel free to drop them in the comment below for my learning.

    Thought of Powering down should be one which gives you headache instead of smiles, knowing that you have a lot to gain from holding your steempower.

    Friends, I was a victim of powering down as you already know and I really regretted selling off my steem so cheaply because of financial strains both emanating from organizing a steemit workshop and other personal stuffs.

    dos_divider.png

    HELP ME POWER UP AGAIN.......I WILL GREATLY APPRECIATE YOUR KIND ASSISTANCE TO POWER UP.

    dos_divider.png

    ADVISE T ALL STEEMIANS

  • Upon conceiving the idea to bring steemit awareness to any people, take your mind totally off powering down....It is suicide.
  • Cut your coat according to your clothe. If you do not get support from anyone after committing yourself financially to your project (just a little financial commitment), round up at that point failure to do that, you are contemplating suicide
  • Never at any point should you think about selling off your steem. Steem is the only SMT for steemit. Sell off your SBD rather if you have any. If you do not have SBD, get committed to writing god posts and you surely will get some to sell.
  • U5dtrSFHgbf4tgRVG8ptby2C84CZ8L8_1680x8400.jpg

    THANKS FOR MAKING IT TO THE END OF MY BLOG POST TODAY.....I VALUE YOU DEARLY!..

    U5dtrSFHgbf4tgRVG8ptby2C84CZ8L8_1680x8400.jpg

    YOU CAN START TO MOTIVATE ME WHEN YOU.......

    DQmbmP8Ja8d4xwMP2RayrtBERJkUKmuAAn1P9a8JXoDoPWz.gif

    Sort:  

    Nice one, thanks for spreading the gospel of steemit.

    I know my vote doesn't mean much because I am new to steemit but I voted anyways. This was a great post. I haven't been on steemit long and I won't be powering down either. I'm still trying to gain steem. I just made a blog post about the future of steemit. My problem is that I am a new guy. Still a minnow. I have no exposure. Can you please read my new post and tell me if it makes any sense to you? I'm not asking for an upvote unless you like it. I have spent the past few days researching everything I can find about steemit and invested all of my time. My account is growing but not as fast as I would like it to. I know I can't expect a miracle to happen in a few days. I am grateful for the followers that I have gotten as well as the upvotes on my comments. The problem is I can't seem to get anyone to read my blogs and I actually have some good quality blogs. I thank you for being concerned about the future of steemit.

    I will be following as well

    I am really dazzled by what you have written my friend. Steem surely is growing and growing very fast, such that powering down at this time will mean suicide. I will read you post and also some others I can find interesting on your blog. I surely believe that you have a great future here on steemit if you continue doing these good things you are already doing.

    Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.28
    TRX 0.13
    JST 0.032
    BTC 65231.30
    ETH 2943.84
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.66