Narrative - An Upcoming Competitor for STEEMIT

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

NEO has a new social media network coming out (ya, that's a referral link). It is a direct competitor to Steemit. Narrative is a social media platform that aims to empower content creators. Users can communicate through 'niches', which basically appear to be subreddits. Ownership of niches net the owner some 75% of value generated. They do, though, have to pay an annual fee for the niche.

The platform is in alpha now, and signing up gives you the opportunity to suggest niches. Beta is to come soon. I think this is overall positive for Steemit. So far, the platform doesn't have any real competition. Steemit is great (but seriously flawed) and is the #1 blockchain by usage and traffic. Having competition means lighting a fire under Steemit's ass. It means putting an end to shit like Banfield's cult coin or auto-fellatio stories.

Whether Narrative turns out to be great or not is beside the point. Steemit needs to fix its flaws and become far more secure and user-friendly than the current bid-bot dominated variation that we see today. Or it'll go the way of MySpace. There's going to be plenty of other platforms that'll take its spot at #1. Being first doesn't mean being the best or being the survivor.

What do folks think? Is this a serious competitor to Steemit? Are you worried about upcoming alternative crypto-social-media? Personally, I've invested a lot of time and work (fiction) into this platform and plan to stay here longterm. But I don't see a problem with pursuing another niche on other platforms. I've got $40k student debt to pay!
(note: I have ZERO funds in narrative. NO investments in the platform)

Sort:  

I am not clicking your referall links

I think competition is a good thing and I'm not worried. But then I do not have a significant amount of currency invested in STEEM, just time, which of course is valuable. If Narrative succeeds in a UI that really caters to niche writing and groups I suspect it will do well since this kind of platform thrives on that format and it's something Steemit has failed to harness (in my opinion tags just aren't sufficient).
Also - Narrative is an awesome name, simply awesome. I'm a strong believer in good, strong names.

Let the competitions rain. Maybe that will be the fire that STINC need under their arses, like you postulated. If it doesn't succeed still to awaken the leadership here, may it be that Narrative becomes the new numero uno, and I would be glad to have claimed my spot early enough. Thanks for sharing this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94