You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should I Use My Real Face On Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I find your situation interesting. My dad is a pastor for a christian motorcycle club known as the Bond Slaves in Princeton, MN. I know that money is often tight for him and had thought about introducing him to the world of cryptocurrency in some capacity or another.

I just recently discovered this community and platform and this is really the first post I read and up until now I hadn't thought about crypto with a face attached to it but you bring up an interesting point. I get that you are very aware of your public image and how it may be interpreted but I would have to agree with the "if it doesn't harm anybody" school of thought.

Hell, if I came across my pastor in this realm or anything crypto it would make me respect him even more. Now we have a connection beyond that of a spiritual nature. We have both a social and financial connection that much of the congregation may never share or even be aware of. It does give a view to the other side of the mirror when it comes to any future conversation with my dad about crypto and possibly this platform and all the things that would be at play for him if he ventured into the land of Cryptopia.

I honestly can't think of a real negative in a parishioner finding out or stumbling across your image or name in here, other than the visible money aspect. I couldn't imagine someone getting offended about such a thing enough to go as far as losing respect for you, stop going to the church because of it or accusing you of stealing money from the offering plate to support your crypto habit. In fact I'm just the opposite. It makes me want to go to your church. Where you located? I want to go to the Crypto Church.

My advise to you would be to go ahead and do it. Put your face out there. Anyone that's going to be on this site would be of like mind and you would be in good company. I don't see them taking offense.

Gosh, if cryptocurrencies were around when Jesus was alive, I wonder what coin he would buy. Maybe he'd have his own coin. Maybe instead of turning water into wine he could turn my 5000 dogecoin into 5000 bitcoin. Haha. Just thoughts.

Sort:  

Wow, very cool on all counts. Honored to be the first post you read on this platform. So welcome aboard :)
And cool that your Dad is a pastor of that motorcycle club.

You've given me a lot to think about and I'm glad to hear it wouldn't be offensive to you. Think I might do it!

So what about you? ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67659.31
ETH 3802.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75