May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Seven: Name 3 Things That Must Be Done Immediately To Make Steemit.com A Better Experience

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the seventh day of the May 30 days writing challenge. If you don't know what this challenge is about, please have a look at the introductory post. Also, at the end of each article I will post the links to all the posts in the challenge (if you're joining the challenge, I encourage you to do the same). Also, if you join, don't forget to tag your post with #challenge30days and also leave a comment with the link of your post, so I can evaluate if you're one of the 3 lucky Steemians that will get a full upvote from me.

Name 3 Things That Must Be Done Immediately To Make Steemit.com A Better Experience

Today's topic will certainly create some conversations and I'm very well aware of that. Our experience of the world is deeply personal, so each of us have very different perceptions. Hence, we will come up with very different improvements.

And that's a good thing. At the end of the day, I'm not looking for a one-size-fits-all kind of approach, but to gather as much information as possible about who are the people building this community and where do they want to take it.

So, here are the top 3 things that I think are a must right now, in order to improve our Steemit experience:

1. Consistent Signup / OAuth Layer

It sounds technical, but it isn't. It's already out there, in the form of steemconnect.com, but in my opinion it needs a lot more documentation and a better UI / UX. A consistent signup / OAuth layer will dramatically increase the adoption of this product, because more and more people will start to build applications on top of the STEEM blockchain. And, given the nature of the blockchain, the main difficulty in building on top of it is related to the public / private keys management. SteemConnect streamlines this process to a very high degree, but it still needs more coverage and a bit of polish.

2. A Better Wallet / Desktop App

Right now, the financial part of Steemit is done in a rather cumbersome way. The wallet also serves as an inbox for paid messages (which is a good thing and I would want to see this trend picking up) and it's rather difficult to set up procedures (for instance, powering up automatically a certain amount of your generated STEEM, or claiming the rewards automatically, etc). @jesta built a very nice tool, called Vessel, which is basically a desktop wallet and I'm a constant user of it. Adding posting capabilities to it and making it like an improved desktop version of the web app will certainly increase usage.

3. Hivemind / Communities Layer

This one is obvious. The Hivemind layer will add a lot more "social media" pizzazz to the user experience and may increase retention, which is probably the worst metrics of Steemit right now. By watching the Github repository, I have reasons to believe this will happen before the first two above. @roadscape is working really hard at this project and it's already looking very good.

Wait, No SMT?

As you probably observed, I didn't put SMT on this list. While I consider SMT to be the main engine for future STEEM growth, I don't see it necessarily as an immediate improvement for the platform. The more I think of it, the more I tend to believe that SMT will probably generate a bit of confusion in the initial stages. Don't get me wrong: I still think SMT is the biggest and most important thing that STEEM must implement this year, but I also think there are other small things that needs to be done before, sort of like paving the road for it.

SMTs are like getting a Lambo the next day you got your driver license. If you don't have any real life driving experience with, let's say, a Ford, for at least 10,000 km, then chances are you will stick your Lambo in the first lightning pole on the side of the road.

So, that was my list. Looking forward for yours. Be as personal as you can and name whatever you think it's important for you. Don't forget to add a link to your post in the comments so I can check it out.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

A good mobile friendly app must be develop so the we can steemit on mobile phone..

Im not very sure how many people actually do use steemit on their mobile devices.
After all it's a blogging site more than any other social media platform and I cannot imagine anyone creating posts on their iphones.

It may not be very important improvement in my opinion.

Yours,
Piotr

Agreed. Even though I need a new phone.

Proper guidence!
Proper guidence!
Proper guidence!
Specially to those who are new!
Pakistanis,indians, bangla people,
After joining they are just playing the game of upvote for upvote, and this comes in spamming.
Proper guidence would do the trick

Agree on it.To use this platform use it real like other social media.

ACtually, People mostly come here to make some early bucks and let me tell this is where they are mistaken,
Give some time to this community with full dedication you'll earn what you haven't desired of.'

I whole-heartedly agree. It's starting to sadden me to see that be the stereotype for users from those regions.

Don't worry. I will try my level best teach them so they will stop these kind of silly mistakes!

I totally agree with you on the first one:

  1. Consistent Signup / OAuth Layer
    It sounds technical, but it isn't. It's already out there, in the form of steemconnect.com, but in my opinion it needs a lot more documentation and a better UI / UX. A consistent signup / OAuth layer will dramatically increase the adoption of this product, because more and more people will start to build applications on top of the STEEM blockchain. And, given the nature of the blockchain, the main difficulty in building on top of it is related to the public / private keys management. SteemConnect streamlines this process to a very high degree, but it still needs more coverage and a bit of polish.

Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@joejoesky/3-things-that-must-be-done-immediately-to-make-steemit-com-a-better-experience-may-30-days-writing-challenge-day-seven

Here you go...a bit late perhaps.

May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Seven:

Good suggestions, thanks for the info about hivemind.
Here's my post

Loving the comp mate and really agree with your three, especially the mobile app (needed). So here's my shot at the upvote for todays:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@lordnigel/name-3-things-that-must-be-done-immediately-to-make-steemit-com-a-better-experience

Fully agree with the sign-up process needing to be streamlined. I didn't know that you could create an account through steem-connect. I'll look into this stuff right away, since I've recently convinced some of my running buddies to join steem and start a running group. Which reminds me -- cue awkward segue here:

I recall you posting a couple times about running, and your "RunCoin" project. Have there been any updates on this? I've been trying to figure out how to create an incentive to get people to be more active. Myself and @aussieninja have been chatting offline, and I've recently started the @runburgundy decentralized running group. It uses an external run-analytics site (Runalyze.com) as the "proof of run" component. The plan is to distribute rewards generated from posts each week to group members based on weekly km's run / cycled.

It would be cool if you joined / supported the group! Check out the first of the (I guess you could say) "beta" posts here. Weekly payouts start this coming Sunday.


Side note: definitely going to check out the desktop wallet by @jesta -- sounds great. Thanks for the heads-up.

I love the idea of communities, and I think it would massively improve the retention rate. I imagine it to work in a similar way to Reddit.

I have been using SteemPlus, and although it's a little clunky at times, it has a lot of features that I'd like to see on the standard platform without the need for a plugin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11