SMT Update: We Will Soon Have A Testnet

in #steemit6 years ago

The Steem development team published an update a few hours ago (kudoz to @steevc for pointing this out to me) about the SMT status. SMT stands for "Smart Media Tokens" if you don't know what it is and it's going to be really big if executed correctly.

I've been watching the Github repository dedicated to SMT development closely for the last few months so there's really nothing new for me in that update, but I do consider it important from a PR point of view. 2018 seems to have started on a more professional note from the Steemit team, something that we should be happy about. I still remember the days when all we received in terms of status updates was a long string of silent days. So hey, the fact that they're taking the time to tell us they're working on stuff - and on what stuff they are working on - is a good thing.

Now, a few blurbs from the update, if you want the TL-DR version:

  • development is going on steadily
  • there will be a gradual development (a.k.a "stubbing") of features
  • automated market-makers will be launched in the first iteration
  • most important: there will be soon a testnet for those who want to test SMT before implementing them on the main chain

I know there is already a test environment and a test suite built, but the fact that we are going to have soon a public testnet is very encouraging.

As you may already know, I'm very excited about this new feature and one of the projects I'm working on, @runcoin, is relying heavily on it. As a matter of fact, RUNCOIN is going to be translated from OpenLedger, where it's already issued, and become a Smart Media Token on Steemit.

Really looking forward to the public testnet and congrats to the team!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

I’m awaiting the SMT market! Can’t wait to get some projects behind us and set a new standard in audience engagement! Thanks for the post!

Do you happen to know, are these two, SMT and the next hardfork coming out together at the same time?

SMTs are going to be a huge revolution for crypto world, courtesy of steem. We can't wait for the whole idea to be fully unleashed. Kudos to the steemit / steem team

this is going to be huge we also can't wait

@dragosroua Do you know if there will be some type of slot on our Wallet Page that we can hold SMT's in like Steem has a spot and SBD's have a spot and Steem Power has a spot ???

Yes, there will be "room" for all types of assets existing on the Steem blockchain, in a similar way with how ERC20 tokens are existing on Ethereum.

Steemit is going to get really exciting when SMTs begin to deploy :-D

Now we can't wait that is for sure its getting exciting with each day

Yes I read the original article. Once SMT is live, it will change the Steem cosystem in a fundamental way and can potentially bring in many many more users into the platform

Been awhile in the making, I can't imagine how challenging this has been and have my fingers and toes crossed for success..

I can't wait to get my hands on some runcoins :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66858.35
ETH 3088.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72