Steem HardFork 20 Released

in #steemit6 years ago

A few hours ago the development team released the 20th HardFork version on GitHub, as you can see from this screenshot:


Screen Shot 2018-09-12 at 2.38.08 PM.png


Pending a supermajority from the 21 witnesses, the HF will be enforced starting September 25th, 15:00:00 UTC.

There is already a witness already running this version on his node, @ausbitbank:


Screen Shot 2018-09-12 at 3.05.31 PM.png


I probably wouldn't have spotted this if we didn't have a little block version conflict:


Screen Shot 2018-09-12 at 3.09.28 PM.png


I already had another conflict with @jesta the other day, but I think it was related to him running 0.19.12 and me running 0.19.6.

Please note I use the term "conflict" in a very benign way, it's nothing conflictual going on between me and these fine lads.

Anyways, big things are happening and really looking forward to see how everything will improve form now on.

If you want to get a glimpse of the changes, please have a look at the release notes on GitHub.

Steem On!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Good to see the HF is getting ready to be implemented.

I'm so excited for HF20 xD
Can't await it, just to see some change :P

HF20 will be good for this community as bandwidth issue will be sorted out.

Does the platform go down as its implemented and do all the witnesses update at the same time please?

once a supermajority of the top 21 witnesses are running the same version, the hardfork will be enforced. Of course, this has to happen on the exact date specified in the article.

ahh ok, thanks as always for replying. There is a good reason I will never be a witness;-)

Good to see new release :) I read through your release notes from earlier post. My high level understanding is that the new release diminishes (eliminates?) any benefit from self-voting. Is that right?

it eliminates the benefits of early self-voting, because it diverts the proceedings to the rewards pool, instead of the author's wallet. There are many other benefits, mainly in account creation and in resource credits (which replaces bandwidth).

Ok. Thanks. I didn't mean to be negative on the release just wanted to understand how it affects users.

Going to be interesting days ahead...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the heads up!
Gong to read the release notes now!

This is great for the steem platform because there are going to be some important and major changes to the platform and steem in general

Great things ahead for sure thanks for sharing this update

Brilliant. That's one we have been waiting on and looking forward to. Roll on the next few months and see what can be achieved.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97