STEEM Is Trading For $0.40 According To Coinmarketcap, Only It's Trading For $0.36, Really

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

There is a small glitch in Coinmarketcap, which makes the STEEM price look at least 10% higher than it actually is. As you can see, CMC is displaying a $0.40 price for STEEM:


Screen Shot 2018-12-01 at 6.23.21 PM.png


But, if you look at the markets, the majority of exchanges have it at around $0.36:


Screen Shot 2018-12-01 at 6.20.26 PM.png


My hunch is that CMC is still taking into account Bithumb, which traditionally has inflated prices (over a significant volume, though), the so called "kimchi premium" that many tokens are getting on the Korean markets.

Stay and trade safe!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

They not taking in calculation the price of Bithumb
look like anther scam..

How do I sell Steem for $4 on Vebitcoin? lol

I thought this was because to SteemTron

that is there from such a long time i only check binance prices

I thought their prices always vary from coins because they take a weighted average from each exchange

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting. This is the kind of thing that either makes crypto interesting or scares away the general public depending on your point of view.

They Bithumb, have done this before, and they ran the price of SBD's up. I am not sure why other than to run the market....
resteemed!!!!

I saw a post that we should now use the 100% option instead of the 50/50 for better returns. Is this accurate?

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't see why, can you explain it to me?

I can't, I didn't really understand their reasoning. Maybe I can find the post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the link and sorry, but that article didn't convince me at all. If you want to know how payouts are actually working on the Steem blockchain and wether or not is useful to use 100% power up, I recommend this writeup I did a few months ago:

https://steem.supply/rewards

Also, you should make your own decisions and learn why a financial decision is better than others, otherwise you will be subject to manipulation and deceit.

Thank you, your post was more informative and I'm glad I ran across your post today. I figured when he didn't respond to my question, that there might be a need for more investigation.

Posted using Partiko Android

🏆 Hi @dragosroua! You have received 0.15 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard @daily.readings
Subscribe: automatically support your favourite steem authors :)

Very helpful information sir

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86