Idea to spread Steemit: Repostr -- worth building?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

How can we spread Steemit to more users from other social media platforms to increase adoption?

I'd like to share an idea that I had that could be a good way to help grow the Steemit community. The basic idea is quite simple:

  1. Scan reddit/facebook/twitter/instagram/etc for popular content that might do well on steemit
  2. Message the creator asking for permission to repost it on steemit and promise that 95% of the revenue it earns will be sent to a new steemit account of their choice if they chose to create one after the post pays out. Require them to respond and agree that they own the rights to what they post and give you permission to repost it.
  3. Post their content on steemit and help promote it to increase their chances of success

In step 2 they would need to post that they make a steemit account with the account name so that we'd know where to send the payment.

Are there any problems with this? Has it been tried before? Feedback is greatly appreciated!

Who to target

Targeting the highest profile youtubers / influences won't be effective because they already profit greatly from the current system. The ideal early adopters are people who are making great content but in a way that is difficult to monetize currently. This includes youtubers with 500-1000 subscribers, great reddit posts, facebook posts, etc.

Automating the process
Making a "Repostr" bot that does this automatically would be relative easy. One could start by supporting only reddit, an writing a bot that scans the front page and pms users, checks for a response with specific text like "I agree" and then checks for a post from that same account with a steemit user name. If it finds one it then can transfer the funds.

I imagine this could all be built and tested with 10-20 hours of work. If this post hits at least 100.00 I'll take a crack at building it myself (I've made one steemit bot before). If not I'll chip in a small donation to anyone who is interested in making this happen.

Lets help steemit grow!

Sort:  

I love your post and post you very good friend thanks for sharing interesting things

I know that redonkulus (sp?) Did that for awhile here. I don't know how it turned out.

hmm, having trouble finding him, tried https://steemit.com/@redonkulous and https://steemit.com/@redonkulus, if you can remember the spelling let me know, would definitely like to make sure I'm not reinventing the wheel or trying something that already failed.

It was @redonkulas my bad.
It's been months since anything has been reposted, but get in touch with the guy that was posting for him and maybe do a blog interview about why it wasn't working and what they think could make it work. His handle was @mindhunter.

Good luck with your plan, ir would help grow steemit community a lot and the number of users would increase too, I am going to follow you to keep myself informed about the progress of your planning I am sure you will reach the big success soon. Upvote my comment please. Best regards.

You are a good friend I am amazed you are steemit friends good and that I have ever known

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56