Giving back to the Steemit community

in #steemit6 years ago

image.jpeg

Here on Steemit we are building a really great community. I have tried over the last year to be a part of that, and here are some of the ways I have contributed to building our community.

One of the easiest and most reliable ways I have supported our community is to up vote comments on my posts. I usually (though the occasional post or comment slips through) upvote meaningful comments at or above 50% of my voting power. Less thoughtful, but not spammy, comments get 10% or sometimes more.

A lot of the people who find my posts are old (Steemit) friends, or new members of the community. Very occasionally I have identified some new members of the community I especially feel a connection with, and I have sent them through a few SBD and some info about @minnowbooster to allow them to start getting a bit of momentum up.

And even more rarely I have helped people more directly, but I won't go into that.

What I will do is encourage you all to find and post about your inner truth. Don't just post a nice picture of a flower, or a favourite place. Tells us why these things sing to you. Why do they mean something in your life. Is there a connection to your grandmother? What was she like? Does the flower tap into your creative soul, a part of you that wants to fly more and be shoved aside for more urgent priorities less? Tell us about it - I'm sure you will find a sympathetic audience here!

And remember that you are speaking to a global audience. As I write I am sitting in my favourite cafe in Brisbane - and to me it is absolutely ordinary. But I know that my lived experience is really different from many people on Steemit. So sometimes writing about things I think are really ordinary can be informative and interesting and perhaps even inspiring to others. And it's the same for you, trust me.

And try to get in the habit of writing one, good, post per day.

Let's build this community!


May all beings be happy.

Photo courtesy of the Steemit community.

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

drwom.png

Register for Universal Basic Income here: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=3ac18f2d78

Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.45.33 pm.png

Sort:  

How do you select the percentage of voting power to use, I am but a lowly "plankton" so am lucky to hand out 0.01 on a vote.

Hey there 🙃

When you get above 500SP (or close to), a slider appears when you vote and you can 'slide' to the percentage vote you want to give (it doesn't show the actual $ - or in my case the cents)
🌞

Still, it all adds up. Your vote shows you read the post and liked it!

Great post! Very inspirational to a newcomer like me to try and have a place in this awesome community.

Thanks - I'm glad you liked it :-)

Thanks for trying to better the community.
Good things never stay hidden.
thumbs up

Hahaha
Well said!

Tried doing one good post a day, was much too challenging for the kind of thing I do XD

Not sure about the whole thing in its entirety sometimes but there are a lot of good communities popping up around the place for sure :)

goatsig

Well Steemit is certainly better with you in it 🙃

Your contribution to the community is highly commendable. This is really a motivating post for minnows.

Thanks. It's not much, but I try in my small way 🙃

Don't just post a nice picture of a flower, or a favourite place. Tells us why these things sing to you.

This is what I always encourage others to do so. It would be great to talk about the photo, about art, painting, music to give an idea what inspired the post. It is subjective and we have to know where the poster is coming from. Because of the dust votes, I am using @dustsweeper's service to make my votes count and so that I can spread more votes to those who deserve it.

That's a good way of thinking while making a post. I am new here. also having some trouble, what should I write and how to write it.
About minnowbooster- does it provide good ROI?? I tried some times.Still I am a very begginer stage. If I gave them 1 SBD, they may vote for me 1.4/5. But, It is also loss to the end. Since, 50% is going to SP. So, i will be having only 0.75 SBD something like that. So, is it still useful? Please let me your thought and share some of good ways of earnings. Thanks.

Minnowbooster is the best value of the upvote bots in my opinion - and it's worth it if you consider that building up your SP is slowly building your wealth (in a way you can't just spend it hahaha)

Thanks for your comment!

Thanks...I will look more into it. Hope there will be soon, when I do not have to spend my SP. Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01