STEEMIT is a social network that incentivizes cooperation

in #steemit7 years ago

Enlight1 2.jpg

Thanks to @heimindanger for that perfect summation of the Steemit community (see https://steemit.com/dtube/@heimindanger/dtube-0-3-this-update-contains-so-many-new-features-i-could-not-find-a-good-title-for-it).

I have been pondering why I love steemit since I joined back in (let's see, I'll get the data from steemworld.org: 2017-06-06, 07:32) June. Yes, I love the fact that I have made over 1000 steem in that time (steem is the blockchain kinda like bitcoin on which steemit is built). How cool is that?

But it's more than that.

I mean I love steemit a lot. I love the growing community.

I'll try to explain.

For example, where Facebook lets you talk to your high school friends, and Twitter (to quote a long-forgotten source) let's you talk to the people you wish were your high school friends, both have limitations.

Trolling is rife on those sites. So is harassment. Facebook not so much if you don't go beyond your circle. But if you do, you know about it.

And sure, there's a place for that. The open discussions. The arguments.

But sometimes you come away from it thinking the world isn't such a great place.

On steemit, however, things are different. Because STEEMIT is a social network that incentivizes cooperation. If someone is being a troll, they get down-voted. If that happens enough, their hateful posts, their awful comments disappear under the ever-growing number of quality posts being upvoted by the community.

There is a built in mechanism to deal with trolls. And it works.

People don't exactly self-censor themselves. They just don't engage in negative discussions.

In reality, the nuclear option of down voting people rarely happens in my experience. I figure if I can down vote them, they can down vote me. Where does it end?

Instead, people just engage with the stuff they like, sometimes critically. But there are no narky comments. There's no anonymous abuse.

Together, we're building our community. And it's a cool place to hang out.

drwom-01.png

@drwom footer by the fabulous @ryivhnn !!

Sort:  

I'm finding autonomous, ("built-in" as you said) solutions to the most possible shortcomings or problems with this community. It's honestly incredibly clever in how it's "proofed" itself. And I never really considered this observation, Wom. Funny because I found myself just naturally opting out of a criticism I was going to include on a previous comment on a post I was reading. We're here to cooperate and elevate one another. Beautiful...

It's cool, isn't it?

Thanks mate

I don't really like downvoting either, tend to only use it when I'm really sure something is spam or when a post/comment is REALLY uncalled for. Much better to just upvote comments/posts that are good and make them more visible than the spam XD

Great post! There does seem to be a motivating force behind Steemit, that attracts people who are tired of the drama, and want to be remembered for more than their status update.

Thanks simgirl

What a wonderful post. Steemit is an amazing community that is built to last, offer amazing feature, and is a lovely place to be.

Keep steeming!

Cheers enolife!

Well said. Short and to the point. Even though I won't replace the other social media sites, just now, I'm not to active anyway, but Steemit is at least for now a complement to those. Steemit is way too different as a community for Facebook or Twitter fans to get into. But I like this. Even though I'm not the expressive guy who writes posts everyday, I enjoy being here and read what others have to say

I used to tweet a fair amount, (never FB) but I haven't engaged in that platform this week at all, and only a couple of times in the last month.
One I started here, tweeting just seemed a negative experience, and not really fulfilling.

A little similar to having a mcdonalds drive through, or sitting down to family meal.

Both are functional for eating, but only one is a satisfying experience.

I think over time, people will migrate, because of the quality of exchange offered here. (I hope so anyway)

Agreed lucylin - love the meal analogy!

Cheers Adrian

Yes, i agree its a nice helpful community and the way the whole platform is set up somehow gets peoples creative juices flowing.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 7.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @drwom
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

This post has received a 9.36 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @drwom.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 17.28 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @drwom. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

This post has received a 4.88 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @drwom. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67330.50
ETH 3103.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78