Using Steemhost to Search Your Own Content

in #steemit6 years ago

In the last year I have written many posts on many topics but periodically I will want to refer to a previous post. There is one post dealing with universal basic income in Finland especially that I have wanted to find and reference. Unfortunately when I use the search on Steemit.com I generally find posts by other people ... I guess I am not relevant!!! That was part of my motivation to develop steemhost.com. It allowed me to search for my stuff excluding everyone else.

Sometimes I will remember something that one of my collaborators wrote so I click on that page and search for the relevant passage

Sometimes I will have read a document and want to refer to it in the future. There is a star to the right of the title of the posts... This adds it to my bookmarks:

Once again the search limits itself to only those posts on the list. If it is a post of someone who isn't currently a host on the site (example @ned), just type in www.steemhost.com/@ned

Bookmark the post you want to reference later...

TADA

Sort:  

Man, what an excellent idea! Sometimes when trying to find something I've written, I've literally had to write some code to retrieve it directly from the blockchain itself. Very annoying, particularly if I haven't written much steem code for a while and have to try to remember how to do that first. :) I've resteemed. This needs more exposure.

Please feel free to self register as a host. There is a financial incentive to become a host (and a logged in visitor) on steemhost. As a host you can create advertisements to appear on yours or other pages. Also as a host the revenue from posts is rewarded to you in the form of steem power delegation (unfortunately the minimum that can be delegated is 1sp). Visitors (who have logged in) also receive steem power delegation. Remember this is just the first week so few people are aware they can be hosts. One person received 71 hits before she had filled in her profile

This image compares the reward for adverts that I host on my profile when a visitor is logged in vs a random visitor.

When the visitor is logged in, as a host I would receive .0033 vs .005.

I visited your https://politicsforpeoplenotcorporations.wordpress.com/ and I quickly customized a steemhost.com site for you - www.steemhost.com/@revo

If you choose to just auto-register and you will be able to maintain your own site and specify the advertisements that you would be willing to receive.

I've got to admit, I don't fully follow the "hosts" thing. It is early here, though, so I might get it once I wake up some more.. ;)

(Although I said I resteemed this, I notice now that it didn't go through. So I've definitely resteemed it now. :)

When you visit a public page on the site, you are considered a visitor. It is possible to log into these public pages and activate additional menu options as well as be able to receive a share of the advertising rewards.

If you want to log into the site and go behind the scenes and participate on the site for want of a better word you are described as a "host". When I visit your wordpress page, I am a visitor. When you visit your wordpress page you are able to do extra stuff ... see reports, add widgets etc.

When you register as a "host" you can go behind the scenes to access a number of additional menus, reports etc.:

But you are also able to negotiate having advertisements on your page:

In addition to the free advertisements on your site, I have added the two which are more or less relevant to your profile. Steemhost of course but also Koigu (https://www.koigu.com) which sells woolen products internationally. Australia doesn't have very good sheep right? ... So I am malicious. Now you will have to log in to reject the advertisement.

I imagine that steemhost can be viewed in the way the first automobile was viewed... a black box with some wheels on it. At this stage it is a challenge getting people to sit in the driver's seat.

Thanks for the explanation, @dwarrilow. That makes sense. It will be interesting to see how this goes. Advertising and steem is going to be a fragile relationship I predict. But it will happen one way or other eventually, so it makes sense to get in there early and give users good methods for controlling what sort of advertising they tolerate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97