1 YEAR ON STEEMIT: 200 SONGS AND A LIFE LESSON

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

The 27th of December 2017 was the day I discovered and joined Steemit

Copy of Copy of 06.10.14 (5).png

Dear Steemit,

Exactly year ago I arrived on this crazy place full of so many interesting personalities, and I got to admit, I would have never expected a social media to have a positive and profound effect on people's lives.

I was like a lot of you anti-Facebook, anti-Instagram, anti-Youtube, of course I had an account like everyone else because as a musician that's what we're supposed to do, but quite frankly I was never really interested in talking about my life, or even exchanging with people, I've grown very distrustful of the mainstream media in the last 10 years, of course these big corporate control the information, through social media, I felt very disconnected with the world.

So when I heard of Steemit through alternative media, I was curious to check it out, and it took me probably another month before truly getting the grip on what that place was all about.

At first, I remember being envious of the big payouts, and not really understanding its economy, more importantly I was hearing conflicting opinions about it (scheme reputation, relaunch, flag war); I have to admit that all fear dissipated when I received my first payout.
I remember the feeling when seeing that number at the bottom of the page, the rush, it took me another week to really become hooked, once I managed to cash out some of that reward I knew it was "For Real"

Remember a paragraph above when I told you I was distrustful?
Well, you have no idea how much, I wouldn't believe that actual money was being exchanged until I got it in my bank account. It was surreal, I almost felt guilty, like that money was not deserved.

That's actually why at the time I started doing song request with SBD giveaway, so I could give back some of that very real money to people on the blockchain.
It was a way for me to deal with that guilt, I really thought that I had a secret contract with god and I needed to give back, otherwise there won't be any payouts anymore.

I even started becoming very superstitious about the time I post, thinking it would have an effect on "why I got the big vote" this time around.
But how much money did we all make in December and January?
Let's just say that the excitement and payout was such, that we all decided to dedicate ourselves full-time for Steemit only, and support it 100% by posting daily, 365 days a year.

There were a moment in February and March when I was so active, posting few times a day, that my posting schedule was on the wall, working from early in the morning to late at night, non-stop.

Come to think of it, it was probably a little too much, but I used that momentum to become a better musician and blogger, reinvested the money right away in an office, computer, and recording software.

When the market started to dwindle I was still right behind Steemit, because we developed a network of like-minded individuals, and for me that was the reward I was focusing on when the monetary compensation was decreasing.

Today I am very thankful to have met you Steemit, you educated me in ways I couldn't have never expected, my purpose today is not to be just a musician, I consider myself a producer, curator ( for @artzone) , a day trader, and a visionary.

I had the chance to go to Steemfest thanks to @artzone and @surfyogi, it was actually a dream come true to meet for the first time these people that felt already like friends, I was so honored to be there, and to spread the artzone gospel, performing there, meeting more talents, that's more that I would have hoped for...
I finally had the chance to meet @prc in Krakow and thank him for creating @dsound and supporting my work, with 500 other musicians, and changing people's lives.We actually share the same vision about music on the blockchain, and will probably keep on collaborating for years ahead.

I would like to thank @heimindanger for creating @dtube, and supporting my work too, we didn't have the chance to meet in person, but he's always answered all my messages on Discord and has been very helpful, even when I was just bitching about not getting paid.

Now there's a whole lot more people that I want to thank, I hope that I am not forgetting anyone, If I do just slap me in the face...

Special Thanks to:

@rolandp @ablaze @addempsea @adetorrent @afrinsultana @angelica7 @antminer @apolymask @arhaynez @artzanolino @artzone.curators @asonintrigue @atomcollector @avesa @bashadow @blocktrades @bloghound @bitcoinparadise @bluntsmasha @briancourteau @corbettreport @c-squared @cannaqueen @chiama @charisma777 @cryptokingz @d-vine @dandays @danieldyemusic @darrenclaxton @davemccoy @davenavarro @davidfar @deirdyweirdy @digitalopus @djlethalskillz @dougkarr @drumoperator @drocobama @elainefaye @elbrujo @enginewitty @ftlob @funkmedia @fun2learn @gvand @gbija @gmichelbkk @grant-vegra @grizzle @harrisonmir @heaterville @hedac @imusify @infamousit @ivan.atman @isaria @jeffandhisguitar @julietisrael @joseacabrerav @junkfeathers @katrina-ariel @krazypoet @laposchepoetry @laritheghost @life-on-earth @lionmom @lorenzopistolesi @lynncoyle1 @matteopaints @melissakellie @melbookermusic @mrbreeziewrites @movement19 @musicoin @musicvoter @misslasvegas @nakedverse @nathanmars @newenx @nmalove @onetin84 @offgridlife @ofildutemps @onelovedtube @outofafrica @petrajordan @puravidaville @saffisara @scottychams @seveaux @shookriya @silentzen @stevee @surfermarly @surfyogi @taphophilia @tcpolymath @termitemusic @testing123 @theomgbrand @theturtleproject @tontin @tygertyger @twirble @ura-soul @vachemorte @vandigital @verbaldancing @wafrica @wolfnworbeikood @yidneth

The Lesson

If I had to resume what I've learnt on Steemit this year, I had the chance to shine with my art, and being compensated for it.
What a dream...I worked more on my music that any other year, recording more than 200 songs (cover/original) and experiencing the internet in a brand new way.
I know that we are not supposed to focus on the monetary side, but it's that very same incentive that pushed me to do more everyday.

I now value my work, and use my time very wisely, I make sure that I am learning something useful once a day, and "increase my value on the market" by honing my skills.

Maybe I am foolish, but I don't think there's as too many wrong things on Steemit as we led to believe, the free market comes with its lot of people trying to rape the pool, circle jerking, bid bots, but If you stick around long enough, you might see something else: Friendships and a network on the blockchain.

Sort:  

Congratulations on your 1 year anniversary on steemit 🎉🍾👌👏 That's amazing my friend!
And thank you for sharing your time here with us and your experience...like you my time here has changed my life and I'm blessed with so many amazing people in my life that I met here 😍 and to read people's posts and Se what their passion is.
And your music is amazing and you have a voice that touches the core. A great gift and a pleasure to be able to be a part of.

I wish you a continuous happy holiday and Happy New Year!
May the year of 2019 bring you much joy and blessings.
Stay as you are and keep sharing your gift with us. Much love 🤗💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much @saffisara for your kind words, you are so good at lifting the spirit up!!!
I wish you all the best in the year to come friend !!!

You joined 1 day before me :)

You've been quite amazing on here bro. Your music and @drkent's where the ones I actually listened to on here when I first joined haha. We've come so far now. Here's to another great year of STEEM!

I love stories like this. YAY for Steemiversaries and meeting people who become friends... and some who become family. ;) My 1 year will be coming up in January. I've made more music and laughed more in this last year than I had for a while. #grateful

lifts glass

I am ashamed to admit it, but the year prior to steemit I recorded 0 songs, so going form 0 to 200 is like being inside a Lamborghini!
I am grateful that I've met people like you Katrina!!! Dope human beings that resonates with you!!

Oh yeah the first time I saw @drkent, it was a Dlive video, and I was so impressed by his skills, I said to myself "I wanna do that too!". I wonder what happened to him, is he coming back?
So I am expecting something special today for your Steembirthday?

Wow! 200 songs, that's amazing and they are all so good. Congrats on an awesome year!

Thanks bruh :) Well...Some of them will not remembered as my "best", but it doesn't matter, I am more interested in the lessons I've learnt while flooring the songs...

I love so much about this post. Echo echo. Much of your experience has been similar to mine... the inspiration, the support, the going to Steemfest and all the awesomeness. The gratitude. You hustled for those wins, though—don't feel guilty. And at the same time, generosity is a gift. Knowing you is a gift. It's the friendships that are the treasures.

If you stick around long enough, you might see something else: Friendships and a network on the blockchain.

^^ This. This is the best part. So glad you're here.

((((hugs))))

Everything that you just said...Man...This is exactly how I feel! Thanks for the lovely comment and the friendship, long live to the awesome artists of the Steemit blockchain!!!

You’ve done the most important thing one can do for themselves, invested in yourself. The monetary payout is great and all but the most incredible thing is the dedication you’ve made to yourself. That sort of discipline (posting several times a day and honing your craft) will not go unnoticed by your children, and we all know that kids grow up to do what their parents did 😉. You killed your first year Ed and I’m happy to know you.

Thanks puria, what's difficult is that there is no instant gratification for investing in yourself, that's why the daily payout is such a fantastic system, it pushes you to wake up and do something new everyday!!!
I was looking at bitcoin chart yesterday, and my son came in the room , and said "This is Steem", I was like "wuuuuuut" , what does he know about Steem? I asked him to repeat again, and he did.
I still don't know why he said it on that particular day, I didn't even know that he knew the word...

That’s incredible! How old is he? Kids are so perceptive that we often forget how they are such little sponges. Wayyy cooler he’s saying things like “steem” rather than things like “selfie”. Haha… keep pushing sir, you’re an inspiration to many.

He is 5 , but until then all cryptos were just "bitcoin" for him.
That's the first time he differentiate alt coins, lol I wish I was him somehow, he's gonna be ahead of anyone's game...

Kids have all of the advantage when it comes to technology. He’s already ahead of the game if he knows what steem is. Most adults still don’t know what bitcoin is. He’s 5 and ready to take on the world- love it!

I feel that brother. I bought a wee bit of steem at 3.20 🙄 so I’m just about breaking even in usd atm, but I have produced more content since starting steemit than pretty much the rest of my life. Hopefully the next year brings us all to new heights in more ways than one...

....than pretty much the rest of my life.

Especially since you started your pet robot @autobodhi , it made you so much more prolific!

Hopefully the next year brings us all to new heights in more ways than one...

Amen to that! Otherwise I will still feel a sense of fulfillment, if we don't go as high...

Reading now this is some great stuff!

Thanks buddy!!

Great post @edprivat! Such a pleasure collaborating with you. Looking forward to doing it again in 2019!

Thanks buddy !!! I won't miss out on another jam night, It's time to take the bass out of the closet and rock on!!! How is the weather like in Hawaii and how long are you going for?

Looks like steemit has treated you well. Hopefully I'd be half as happy on my first anniversary. :p

Thanks !Yeah and more particularly the people of Steemit really helped me grow :)
Your anniversary is in a month. Do you remember the exact date?

Not really. The second week of January is all I can narrow it down. Perhaps later i'd scroll down to my first post. The horror.

Steemd will probably tell you the exact date....

Posted using Partiko iOS

good idea!!

@cryptocurator suggested steemd it might work!

Here you go @ulqu3 - https://steemd.com/@ulqu3?page=243 - the beauty of the blockchain! Account Created 30 Jan 2018. You can track your first comments and posts.

Wonderful !!! Great job!!!

Thanks for your passion and sharing your creativity with us - 2019 is going to be an explosive one for blockchain most likely, but just keep on being you and you'll be just fine. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56