STEEM COSMO: The @lukestokes interview

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Steem cosmo 1.jpg



Previously on STEEM COSMO...

Last season on the mag, we had a spectacular run, featuring top authors who fill in different leadership roles in the community. From developers to moderators and people from all walks of life, we had you covered. We featured top authors like @stellabelle, @pfunk, @surfermarly, @steevc, @papa-pepper, @onetree, @good-karma, @redhens, @timcliff, @mynameisbrian, @thecryptofiend, @condra, @kingscrown, @kevinwong, @ausbitbank, @donkeypong.



And now on STEEM COSMO...

This week, we take a peep into the world of @lukestokes, who is a Father, husband, biz owner, programmer, voluntaryist. In his own words, "I want to help create a world we all want to live in."

@lukestokes has over 5490 followers, 9620 posts and 450 following
Screenshot (483)111.jpg

Grab on to the edge of your seats for the thrilling ride...it begins


STEEM COSMO with @lukestokes

IMG-20170512-WA0067.jpg



- STEEM COSMO: Welcome to this week's edition of your top choice magazine on the blockchain, with us today is none other than our very own @lukestokes, we say a big welcome. So tell us why you joined the steemit train?
- @lukestokes: I've been really excited about cryptocurrency and blockchain technology since early 2013. I see it as an amazing technology to bring freedom to humanity on many levels as we create non-violent consensus and control our own stores of value. I tried for many years to get our FoxyCart users to accept bitcoin through their stores (we integrate with both BitPay and Coinbase), but they just weren't interested because their customers weren't interested. I tried all kinds of things to get people onboarded to cryptocurrency including local meetups. When I saw Steemit, I immediately saw it as an excellent onboarding tool for introducing cryptocurrency to the masses. I'm hooked.


- STEEM COSMO: That was a powerful journey onto the blockchaim, can you tell us about your likes?
- @lukestokes: I love my kids, my wife @corinnestokes, technology, blogging, good food, camping, movies, audio books, passionate discussions about things that matter, and life in general.


- STEEM COSMO: And Your dislikes?
- @lukestokes: Immoral people who don't mind harming others.


- STEEM COSMO: What is your hobby?
- @lukestokes: Lately, my biggest time-consuming hobby has been blogging on steemit and learning about new cryptocurrency projects. The latest one I enjoyed diving into was SmartCash and playing with @SmartBot.


- STEEM COSMO: Can you tell us if you have a favorite steemit tag section?
- @lukestokes: #Cryptocurrency


- STEEM COSMO: In your own opinion, can you tell us how steemit can become better?
- @lukestokes: More open communication between stake holders so we can set better expectations. There are a lot of competing interests who all want a piece of the rewards pool and who want to set the vision for the future. Investors, bloggers, entrepreneurs, developers, company owners, and more all have a say in where this is going. If we're not in alignment, we might be pulling in opposite directions.


- STEEM COSMO: Can you please give your advice to all steemians?
- @lukestokes: This is the post I now send to anyone who wants my advice on Steemit: #SteemitIsToMe: Relationships, Reputation, and Rewards and you were a big part of making that post happen, so thank you @ehiboss.


- STEEM COSMO: Give a shout out to two steemians
- @lukestokes: @anyx is one of the smartest people on the blockchain, from my perspective. I really enjoyed hanging out with him at Steemfest and talking philosophy. @roelandp put on an amazing SteemFest conference. I'm still in awe of how he managed all the venues and the food... oh, the food was fantastic.


- STEEM COSMO: Can you tell us about your experience on steemit so far
- @lukestokes: I love it! I'm approaching 10,000 comments and posts. Seeing people face to face in Lisbon reinforced what I already knew: I'm building real relationships here and they are awesome. :)


- STEEM COSMO: Where do you see yourself in five years from now?
- @lukestokes: Traveling the world a lot more with my family. Hopefully working less on my business and having more free time to explore cryptocurrency projects.


- STEEM COSMO: If you had a time machine, what will you change?
- @lukestokes: Dang... that's a deep question for a materialistic determinist. I'm not sure I would be confident enough to change anything without knowing all the unintended consequences. Ultimately, I'd want to limit human suffering with any change I make so maybe that would include preventing world wars or bringing back technologies to help move humanity along quicker. It's a tough question. I guess I'd want to be able to simulate my changes and figure out their impacts before making them. Heck, maybe we're living in that simulation right now. :)


- STEEM COSMO: How do you feel the minnows can grow on the platform faster?
- @lukestokes: When we say "the platform" we should clarify what we mean. Are we talking about users (bloggers) on Steemit? Are we talking about the value of the STEEM token which powers the rewards pool that all Steem related websites pull from? It's a challenging thing to get right because some are just focused on bringing in new users without also thinking about bringing in new investors to increase the value of STEEM to support those new users' demand for rewards (not to mention the development work to support them). Beyond just minnows, I think we can all help the core developers (currently dominated by Steemit employees) by getting involved in things they are involved in, including evaluating the SMT white paper and upcoming change proposals like hard fork 20. I get that not everyone is a programmer or technical person, but we can all contribute something when it comes to the changes that will define what STEEM, Steemit, and similar sites are in the future.


- STEEM COSMO: Why the name lukestokes?
- @lukestokes: Because that's my real name. I believe in controlling my online identity so I genuinely use my real name online.


General news

With the recent spike in the price of the Steem backed dollars, lots of people have been trading the currency for a good price with Steem backed dollars hitting a conversion rate of 30 sbd to 400 US dollars on bittrex.
So far, there has been no issue with the blockchain which has held firm and handled transactions within the blockchain with ease, accuracy and extreme speeds.

Meanwhile the bitcoin blockchain and some other blockchains have been experiencing a delay in transaction speed due to the number of transactions going through the blockchain.
Here is a list of things you can do with your SBD

  • Convert to steem
  • Convert to fiat
  • Invest in ICO's
  • Power up
  • invest in other cryptos
  • Hodl


Previous Editions Of STEEM COSMO





And that's a wrap from us here

SEE YOU NEXT WEEK

If you love @lukestokes, give him upvote and a resteem.

Vote for the lukestokes.mhth witness today!





You can follow me on twitter by clicking the icon



Thanks to @camzy/ @samstickkz and @elyaque for the animated art and badge
Support @curie, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @xeldal, @steemgigs for witness

You can help me boost my curation activities by following my curation trail on steemauto.com ( @ehiboss)



animated christmas.jpg
lion badge.png

Sort:  

I would like to add that Luke is supporting various of the best projects (at least IMO) of the steem ecosystem. These projects all have in common that they aim to make steem better. I refer to this for more information.

For this reason, maybe some of you may think that lukestokes.mhth should get a witness vote? This is up to you, of course, but I wanted to make it clear.

For this reason, maybe some of you may think that lukestokes.mhth should get a witness vote?

I will edit and add that.
He is an amazing person

Wow, thanks for the shout out. Much appreciated. :)

Your support to our steemstem project is also appreciated ^^

nice talk bro

@ehiboss, The content in this post is heart warming. Steemit is going places, I'm happy to belong here. As the Steemit message move round, more people will get involved and our society will be better for it.

Great interview! I love your take on steemit and how its more than just a way to make money, but a great community of people who are looking to make the world a better place 👊🏽

He is an amazing person

Looking forward to when minnows will be featured on steem cosmo too. Nice one bro

I'd feature you :)

I'd be hoping for it :)

They will be very soon, Steem cosmo is for all.

Yey!!! I'd be waiting for it

Thanks for giving more creative fun interview @ehiboss.
Followed & Resteemed.

Invest in ICO? Got any tip for me on one to go for?

Awesome interview.

I gat some, are you on steemit.chat??

Love some one today, ok !

Thanks for a fun interview. I'm honored to be among such a great list of Steemians.

Thank you sir for doing this

Hi, I like you post that is why i UPVOTE and FOLLOW you, Pls guys, UPVOTE and FOLLOW me in return....Thanks

wonderful post. I like your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63