You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Won't Finish This Article. Day 29 of the Total Writer Transformation

in #steemit6 years ago

I remember the days before the internet when I would see an article -- usually several pages long -- that I wanted to read in a magazine. So I would stick a paper chip on the first page and put the magazine on my nightstand. I would read for several hours a night before going to sleep. Lining up my night's reading was one of the things I did in the day.

That habit died when I entered the online world, but I remember it fondly. Articles on the internet are 200 - 400 words long. Newspapers (remember those?) used to call things that length "fillers" -- back in the day.

I don't know how you reasonably discuss serious ideas, or teach or learn anything of value in something that short -- except in these quick "sound-bite" bursts of targeted information. No wonder there's so much shallow thinking, so much outright ignorance, so much hostility -- and so little patience. We program it into the very structure of how we receive information. Not an improvement IYAM.

TLDR is an actual thing now -- and I'm already way past the limit. I could write several more paragraphs without pausing for breath. But my time is up ... and it's entirely possible your attention fizzled out already -- a while ago.

<3

Sort:  

Oh my gosh, tldr. I remember the first time I saw that. Smh.

I watched Sesame Street when I was little, and then with my boys. I had a realization once when we were watching. I remember asking "why are the segmentsso short?"

Then I wondered if it was the chicken or the egg... Because, seriously, children used to have a longer attention span I believe. I've heard the whole family used to be entranced with radio shows and the nightly television program- "gathered around the set".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86