Dark As The Night Of The Bat Watch

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Is there a "bat watch" where you live? We have that where I live and that is being done every year. Bat fans and environmentalists like me, gather together to go on what they call - a "bat watch stroll".

Thing is .. you won't really get to see the bat up close and personal. You just get to hear them through a sonar device that picks up the sound that they make and see them fly above you every now and then because you get to take that "bat watch stroll" the moment it gets dark.

We walked through the dark thicket of the most beautiful park in The Netherlands. Do you happen to know what it's called? I've written about it many times. We had a guide, a bat expert so we didn't have to stumble on huge tree roots bulging out of the ground though it was dark .. though some of us did have flash lights and phone torches on.

a.jpg

My husband and I know the park so well so I doubt that we would get lost in it. However, I can't imagine having no guide that night, I doubt that we would have learned about the many bats that the guide told us that night. One of them, I mentioned in my video here which will premiere at 7:30 pm Amsterdam, time. If you have a youtube channel why don't you join me on it's live chat?

On that day, it actually rained and we thought the bat watch stroll won't push through but thanks to the responsible guide and organizer plus everyone who registered who .. despite that cold and drizzly day, showed up and joined us to make the event happen.

The guide was very much the leader of the bat watchers that night and am sure glad he was responsible enough not just to stand us up nor to leave us behind. He made sure everyone was safe, that we're all complete and he finished what he started, properly. Now, that's called dignity!

Okay, so I wasn't able to capture any picture of one single bat but you see I have no infrared cam, perhaps next time I could and then post it here .. that is ... if we still exists. If not .. cest' la vie, mi amigos. If you are one of the people I got close here with and you'd like to keep in touch, you know where to find me in discord.

For now.. let me leave this pic of a stag shredding his antler which was the only animal I got to see up close that dark night. I wonder if shredding the skin on his antler actually hurts.

b.jpg

Yeah .. it ain't as clear as the usual pics I post here but I guess .. this is just how I feel.. wondering about what's going to happen to us now .. dark as the night of the bat watch.

I'd like to ask; " Oh captain, my captain, why are you leaving this boat and jumping into another one? Are we sinking? Did you at least find us a new captain?"

Unfortunately, am just a small voice, a very small voice, am sure am not the only one who feels this way but you must have already drained your RCs so I won't bother asking . Oh well, captain, thanks for the great times I already have my rubber boat up so see you around that new waters or maybe not ... You, why don't you hop in, I still have room in my rubber boat and let's form a community there, too.

This content's 100% mine . I took these pics with my D Eye.



**TIP :
ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.



FOLLOW ME - @englishtchrivy.

Sort:  

Bats here in my place are small and they live up on the branches of coconut trees, they are small and lives on insects and fruits. They are very important in balancing the environment. @englishtchrivy

I actually miss the bats in the PH
specially the sound they make at 6 pm

Hello Ivy, I came to tell you a good news; I just received 50 Steem from Flipstar. So thank you again for mentioning me. I just hope thing will turn around next year, so let's stay positive. There are many good and powerful Steeminas working on it 🌸💖🌸

oh that's great!
congratulations Lena
and thanks to @flipstar!

Thank you Ivy, I am very happy 🌸💖🌸

Hello Ivy,
that's funny, I live near a small town where there's a cave where bats from all over Europe spend the winter. They fly thousands of kilometres just to sleep exactly in this climatically harmonious cave. A planned motorway was not built because of the bats.
In summer there are guided bat-tours at the lake. Always without camera, but with sound catchers. Very impressive!
Don't look so dark - after (Steem)winter will be (Steem)spring ;-)
Best regards,
Chriddi

Hi Chriddi,

It's great to hear from you.

I hope all is well so far.
Afaik, this "bat watch" is being done in many countries in The EU which is actually great because it creates awareness on how cute bats actually are compared to the "fear mongering " that they do about bats in Asia. I actually enjoyed this "bat watch stroll".

Am not worried at all, the light shall always find and create a chink no matter how dark it becomes.

Keep the faith!

Warm regards,
Ivy

Great quote @englishtchrivy! I think MANY of us are thinking the same; Are we sinking? We don't have a bat watch here but on my South African homestead we often have them flapping around the outside lights at night, and escaping indoors if they find an open window.....eeeeeeck!

ah .. sounds like they're pretty free out there :)

@englishtchrivy, This Batwatch gathering sounding awesome and in my opinion sometimes we have to explore something unique because who knows in which exploration what clues and what other perspectives of life will going to open up.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98