When You Think You Are Too Big To Care

in #steemit5 years ago

When I registered on Steemit last year in January, I knew the most important thing was to build your own community or circle of friends (call it as you want). I came with previous experience from another platform and I was lucky to find my friends here, so it was easy to connect with them.

After connecting with my old friends, I started to look for new ones with similar interests and I've managed to get a lot of followers. I don't like to use this word because it doesn't mean anything unless they are active followers but can't find a better word.

Over the past year I've tried to keep in touch with these people, visit their blog and comment more or less regularly. Unfortunately time is limited for everyone, we are all busy and sometimes we can't do everything we want to. One thing I would never do is skip replying to comments! No matter how busy I am, I'm always replying to comments! Sometimes I'm two days late but I'm still replying because I value people and their comments are important to me!

Ilchi-Lee_I-dont-care_20180220.jpg
source

I had some very disappointing experience at the beginning. I remember I saw a post by someone very popular at that time (maybe he still is) with a high reputation. Little have I known about these things back then, but I liked the topic and had something to say about it, so I left a comment containing a question as well. As you can probably guess, I got no answer, nor got the others who commented on the post, except for a few people with similarly high reputation. I was disappointed but it was a good lesson for me and an eye opener.

Before writing this post I went to check him out again, hoping he might have changed his habits but I saw that nothing has changed regarding his behavior. However, something has changed. Instead of 35 - 40 comments on a single post he's getting 2 or max 3 comments now.

Some users choose to upvote comments as a sign of appreciation, so that is fine, I guess no one can complain about that.

A week or so ago I came across a post authored by @matkodurko, called Why do my Steemit/DTube posts have more comments & interaction than average?. Please read it, he is right and has a very good point.

There is a very good tool to monitor your activity, that motivates a lot of people around here. It's called 🏆 The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 and it's run by our friend Asher, @abh12356. If you haven't heard of it, it's time for you to check it out. It helps a lot to see where you stand week by week and if you're doing it right, you can even be rewarded.

If you ask me, you have two choices here. Post and then don't care as you think you're big enough to not care. Second, respect other users by replying to them. The decision is yours. Ether way, you can post, you can be part of the community but I think it's better to engage.

Sort:  

I can't imagine not replying to comments on my posts! And I agree. Everyone who wants their account to grow should be part of the Engagement League. No requirements, just a great tool for tracking how many comments you are making!

We are all different, with different goals and tools. I'd say community is going to decide who's in and who's out, based on out behavior.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Many thanks!

Not replying to people's comments to your post is absolutely not on, unless of course you don't care or you just have hundreds on a really popular topic. I view people's comment as a visitor to your house, and you will hardly ignore a visitor will you? The only comment I don't respond to are spams and auto replies from bots, and if I do respond to the former, it probably isn't something nice!

I view people's comment as a visitor to your house, and you will hardly ignore a visitor will you?

Well said, you're absolutely right!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Not replying really irks me too. I give people two chances, because sometimes we just miss a comment here and there. After that, I spend my limited and valuable time elsewhere.

We all miss comments I think but not intentionally. We are alike, I don't comment either if I see comments are not answered. I don't see why I would waste my time and mana :)

Hey, @erikah.

Like minds. :) The more posts like this, the merrier! Engagement helps in many ways, and those who are not answering every single one of the legit comments on their posts are missing out on great opportunities.

Some people are too busy. Some people make themselves too busy. I think there's a difference.

I hope never to be too big to care. :)

Hello again @glenalbrethsen :) I'm learning your name as last time I got it wrong tree times.

Some people are too busy. Some people make themselves too busy. I think there's a difference.

You're right. It's like when in another century, when people were not equal and this way were treated differently :)

re: name

Yeah, it's an odd last name. Not many of us around, and so it's constantly being misspelled. No worries. It's cool you're even trying to learn it. :)

re: treated differently

It's sad that in this day and age, and particularly on this platform, that still can happen. Maybe the more of us who are conscientious about engaging with others, the more that will dwindle over time.

We stick together at least, they don't. :)

Good thoughts. People commenting is the best thing you can get out of a post, because it means they have given it a thought and join the discussion. I try to remember to answer every comment and I love it. It's a way to connect to people around the world <3

We agree on that my friend! I wish I had more time to visit everyone and comment. Thank you for your support 😍

Instead of 35 - 40 comments on a single post he's getting 2 or max 3 comments now.

Yep, and I wonder if they actually care, as long as the post is earning the same?

Thank you for the nice mention @erikah!

Time for me to catch up on my comments today :)

Thanks for running the league and happy commenting 😉

I love this post! It can happen sometimes that you forget it or don't see it or whatever. But just not replying because they're a "small fish" is not cool....

Unfortunately it happened to me and I bet it's going to happen in the future to miss a comment here and there because as I said in my post, we are all busy. I agree, "small fish" must be taken seriously as well.

yup, exactly :)

You got a 8.69% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98