I've been Thinking

in #steemit6 years ago

that it's time for some REVERSE psychology.

................................................................................................................................................................

regarding the marketing of Steem.

We're doing it the wrong way.

Instead of what we are presently doing... That is were telling everyone we know You gotta see this new THING...it's yadda yadda....mumbo jumbo.

We should change our strategy. Instead of PUSHING Steem...we should entice them to come to us.

Recall back in the early days of GMail? Before it was widespread? When it was still in Beta? Google only allowed a 'few' people to use GMail, those who had special 'Invites"

I recall back in the day that I'd see comments on FaceBook. "I have five GMail Invites...if anyone wants them? What am I bid?"

What WAS that thing? What WAS GMail? I think I want to see?

Invitation Only you say? Hmmm...where do I get one? I'd pay a bit of money to see what this is all about!

And they did.

It's interesting to note..that GMail rose to prominence and saturated it's marketspace. It is the dominate Email in use right now. Even MORE interesting is that it happened BEFORE tokens.

Imagine...just imagine...that a 'Steem Invitation Token' were developed.

"you want to check out Steem? Certainly...where's your Token?"

Perhaps a market in SIT's might appear? There's always a market for anything of value.

in sum...Don't go to THEM...have them come to US.

Sort:  

They will come when it's built.

What you are proposing assumes there is some kind of incentive to move one's social media time to this cobbled together series of errors and load times as of late. I have been offering incentives to people to sign up for steem, not insignificant incentives either, a head start on their steemit path.

good point..the platform has to WORK correctly..

ALL THE TIME.

Isn't that what they have been doing already? - with the hurdles of trying to make an account...?

No I don't think so.
The hurdles are an attempt to prevent 'bots from gaming the system.
How's that been working out?

Marketing skills at its best @everittdmickey...

SteemitInc just hired a new vicepresident of marketing...

That is an interesting take on things, Mickey. Food for thought.
While steemit already have their approval concept, which is somewhat pretty close to those invitations token, yet you have a point too.

Just a wild thought on my part. I'm not into sales. I couldn't sell water to a man dying of thirst in a desert...but some people can sell ice cream to eskimos...maybe they should consider it?

Yes we need more SIT's, as I sit and wait for the circle thingy to stop spinning on a comment post, as I sit waiting for the Upvote circle thingy to stop spinning. Yes we need more Tokens, we should all be given one token for every 3 seconds we have to sit and watch the circle thingy spin. They better print lots of them if they take my suggestion, we would all be billionair extremes if that was the case. But alas, i will sit here and watch the circle spin while I wait for my comment to take. have a nice circle spin free day, as if that is possible.

I can SO relate.
However..that's a different thing.

I think that steemit.inc think the same way. We are the ones who try to push steemit to new users.

Ah..but that's the beauty of my idea.
Steemit.inc would NOT be trying to push...rather they'd be pulling

You are spot on, spot on with that advertising strategy

That's a pretty genius idea actually..

Thank you.
I have exactly NO IDEA how to put it into practice.
But that's why they pay marketing the big bux.

Good post mickey!
I agree completely.
Presenting a ripe and juicy fruit.
Leaving a person with a need to feed.
Human is a curious creature.
When you tell the whole story you leave no room for more.
When you tell as story leaving question.. the urge is hard to ignore.
The clickbait era of YT should be evidence of this.
Even when you know it's going to be some crap..
You sometimes click that crap anyway..
Because mind overrules.

I wonder to what extent steemit is already doing it, as they must be. Maybe an army needs to be raised that is actively following a set of rules. Because one thing I have noticed.. is that there is a bit of 'bad publicity' out there. People even making videos on YT and such showing others how to come here simply to spam and get rewards of cents that equal a few dollars.
They don't bring quality so there needs to be a movement which entices the right type that can grow the community and eventually the value of steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87