Some thoughtssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago



About Steem
.......................................................................................................................................................................

The other day @ned dropped a bombshell in which he revealed that he laid off 70% of his team at Steemit.com and that Steemit is going into 'survival mode'.

This came shortly after HardFuck20

  • The new RC system will make it the most advanced freemium blockchain in the world without compromising the existing features and functionality that make Steem such a powerful platform for building DApps.

How well did that work out?
'Steem Stats Report' since the blockchain forked to version 0.20 last Tuesday. The numbers are depressing,


Depressing? Yeah I guess you could say that. The BlockChain

CRASHED

It was down for a while. If you were a whale you couldn't post for a little while.
If you were a dolphin when it happened, you couldn't post for a couple of days.

Minnows? They were and are pretty much screwed. That RC thing didn't, and still isn't working out as planned.


In my , not so humble opinion, the only thing good that come of it was that it made it harder for 'bots.

It made it harder for anyone else also.

Steemit has ALWAYS had a steep learning curve. After HardFuck20 it went vertical. Imagine you just 'onboarded' Steem and this happened? What would you think?

See the results here Daily Steem Stats Report - The day after...

  • the Steem blockchain was down for half of the day yesterday

Read it and weep. From what I can tell (I'm not a geek) it ain't pretty.

From my perspective, cutting thru all the geek-speak and baffle-gab, HardFuck20 made EVERYTHING worse. I can see no benifit to me. My readership plummeted. Some of the minnows I used to chat with are just GONE. I haven't seen them since the HardFuck.

Then @Ned played the guitar for us.

and told us about something new entirely Steem.com

All of his posts up until the bombshell were sweetness and light.

I've thought about it for a few days and I've come to some conclusions.

It's all about the MONEY!

Of course everyone on Steemit knew that all along. Some folks have said 'its the community"

Yeah right.

It's all about the money. Ned talked about his 'love of the currency' in his revelation.

Ok...so be it. Confession is good for the soul.

When he said that Steemit was going into 'survival mode' he said that he'd fired 70% of the people that had any chance of fixing the Steem blockchain.

Imagine the titanic just after it had hit the iceberg. It's going DOWN and the Captain attempts to 'lighten the load' by ejecting all of the engineers, maintainence crew and the lifeboats.

How well would that work out?

The problem isn't the staffing.

The problem is the cost of renting the servers. I've seen 'guestimates' that it costs over a million a year to do so.

Why is so MUCH cloud space needed? I'd suspect it takes a LOT of space to store the Steem Blockchain.
It's bloated and continues (or it did before the HardFuck) to grow even larger daily.

SO

I have some modest suggestions

Remember...it's all about the money.

First thing I'd do is delete all posts after payout and do it retroactively. What's the point in keeping them? They're damn near impossible for a non-geek to access. What good are they anyway?

Delete everything on the BlockChain except for the MONEY.
The currency.
Just like BitCoin.

That's the big thing...

Steemit brags about 'no censorship'...
That's not true.


Get rid of flaggin.
and

Steemit is a social media site...not a junkyard.

Other things might be useful.

  • Blocking - facebook does it. Twitter does it. Why not Steemit?
  • Can't vote on it unless you've read it.
  • Pay to read - post a 'blurb'...a teaser. Then at some point 'to read more pay here'.
  • etc..etc...etc.

Remember. If you don't pay for it then YOU are the product.
It's all about the

MONEY!

Sort:  

I'd really like the 'pay-to-read' system too.

Don't hold your breath that steemit will suddenly care to offer the services we are interested in having. They would rather have people outside of the company develop new dapps to offer services for features that we actually want and requested. Many of these dapps are asking for some sort of reward-fee, donation, or delegation, to cover obvious maintenance costs, while steemit is basically free of charge.

The love of money. Watch out for those who prioritize their earnings and business as number-one here. They are everywhere, and they do not understand why they should have compassion for anyone else's needs. It doesn't make cents to them.

I think the underlying system for steemit was based on this model, with the primary goal to build wealth for those who have invested the most, but some of the people who initially joined were capable of using it in a better (less selfish?) way than intended. There are still a few strong ones left after all the storms endured up to this day.

I greatly appreciate your thoughts on the matters at hand. I'm not gonna say you're a genius, even though you might be. Ahem. We agree on some important aspects of society, such as that most of it is comprised of morons. Nonetheless, we'd both rather they were free morons (at least so they'd remove themselves from the gene pool a la Darwin), and consider Steemit primarily a social mechanism rather than simply a Steem faucet.

From @ned's remarks we might have been wrong. Doesn't matter. I observe that should @ned successfully relieve Stinc of the burden of Steemit and focus on making Steem a platform for every kind and stripe of industry, commerce, and society, better UX will arrive, both botted and without.

I hope this shoal is full of learning moments for Stinc, and that they successfully transition to what I think is that model. I haven't used Steemit since the TOS, because they would not reply to my concerns. At first I waited, and used busy, but then I found Steempeak and have not been back on Steemit.

This taught me the truth that Steem is the road, and the UX the ride. Let there be many rides, for myriad riders.

Thanks!

you're welcome..
I haven't seen you around in some time.
Is everything ok?

I no longer have internet access, except by the gig on my crappy phone. I'm hardly ever on. This late kerfluffle got my attention when I finally got a whiff of it, and I am rather concerned for the future of this medium. Not that I can do anything about it. I just hope them as can, do.

Thank you. How's the Steem Dream? Still plugging away at it?

not having internet would suck.
I work on the boat a little bit...as best as I can.
I'm not in a rush.

Well said, sir...Very well said...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70810.22
ETH 3571.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73