Have you considered writing down your dreams (not just your goals or aspirations, but your ACTUAL DREAMS)?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

rsz_1rsz_pa190678.jpg

A few months ago, I had a dream, and I could still vividly remember what it was. I was driving with Jodie Foster (obviously, it's a dream!) on the highway near a forest, then accidentally, we witnessed a crime, a mass murder by a gang but they were not aware we were there. The two of us were so scared that we sped up and drove past them, regretted that we didn’t stop at a nearby service station because the car ran out of petrol. We had no choice but to get out of that car. Of course, we didn’t want to be caught by the killers, so we quickly went and hid inside the house nearby. Then we heard noises from outside and we realized these were the men from the murder scene. We peeked through a peep-hole and saw that they were carrying the dead people and were dumping them just outside the house. All of a sudden, someone from outside peered through that same peep-hole and I got really scared so I screamed!!! I thought what a big silly mistake that was, because, after that, these men were pursuing us. I don’t recall anymore how that dream ended though.

Then a couple of nights ago, I had a dream and it was very weird because it felt like I experienced a "déjà vu" in my dream. In my dream, I was thinking that I was in the same situation and that it had already happened to me before.

Cambridge English Dictionary defines déjà vu as "the strange feeling that in some way you have already experienced what is happening now."

Anyway, the dream was: same setting, same place, same time, same scenario, same people, except this time, I was alone. In that dream, I felt like all these things had happened to me once before. The engine of the car stopped, too, and I thought it was stupid of me for not stopping at the service station. Again, I witnessed a crime. And I was in the same house. The only difference is, I was well aware of what’s going to happen next. So I knew I should not peek through the hole, and that I should be very, very quiet and let those men finish what they were doing before I should make a move. So I kept still, still frightened, but I was very careful so that no one would ever notice someone was inside the house. The men left the place (after dumping the dead bodies nearby) and that was when I felt relieved for the first time knowing that I was finally safe. Then, I woke up hyperventilating and realized it was just a dream.

I must have forgotten to pray before sleeping. Or, maybe, the suspense or thriller movie that I must have watched before going to bed had something to do with what went on in my brain during my sleep. Having said that, I just have to steer clear from these movies and I will not have these nightmares!

Talking about dreams, I remember this book which I read when I was in high school, it's called "Gate-crashing the Dream Party" by Alison Leonard. The book is about a girl who constantly writes her dream on her 'dream diary', which she values more than anything. She always reflects on both her dream world and reality using her dream diary. She runs away from home and still keeps her dreams in her diary wherever she goes. But then the dream diary goes missing, thanks to the boy who, like her, doesn’t have a place to live, so both of them keep on wandering from places to places. This boy has taken the dream diary and, if I am not mistaken, he throws it in a bin somewhere. The girl gets devastated when she finds out that her diary is lost, and is actually taken from her without her permission. Anyway, I can no longer recall how the story went and how it ended. That's the only part of the book that has remained in my memory.

Now, that book got me thinking, "Why not make a journal for all my dreams"? Some people actually strongly recommend this, that as soon as you wake up from sleep, you should write down your actual dreams on your notepad, or a paper at least, so that you will not forget your dream - sort of like a dream journal, a compilation of all your dreams during your deep slumber at night or day. They say that writing down your dreams may inspire you and may also serve as a clear analysis of a timeline for understanding your feelings at a moment in your life. By doing this as well, you will be able to write funny and interesting things to read later in life. Then when you read again what you wrote, you may find it hilarious how your brain came up with those dreams. Also, when you write down your dreams, you remember them and may be able to reference them later on to explain something that has happened in the "present real world." You may also effectively share your dreams with others (because the dreams were written down, so you won't miss a thing).

For practical use, writing down dreams as a habit helps yourself wake up in the morning. As you know, you can easily forget your dreams within seconds of waking up. So, when you write your dreams down, you are motivated to get up just to write down that "out-of-this-world experience", thereby forcing your sleepy brain to wake up, get up and start the day.

rsz_rsz_divider-36856_960_720.png

Thank you for reading! Should you have any comment or feedback, please hit reply down below. Upvote and resteem are greatly appreciated, too.


Dynamic Steemians' banners credit to @baa.steemit.


Join @ntowl 's writing class on DynamicSteemians Discord channel, founded by @dynamicgreentk, and learn more about producing quality content material.

"The objective most of us have on Steemit is to write better posts so we can get more upvotes, get noticed by a whale and/or grow our accounts and network." ~@ntowl

I am also a member of #SteemBulls community, with people who help one another in having their posts get noticed, read and appreciated.

So, come and join, and be inspired!!!

Check out posts by @sarahdandridge, @ryl, @dangerousangel, @socialreformer, @puregrace, @pkalra, @honeychum, @steemulator, @udywriter, @shanu, @lantracy and many more!!!

Vote for @emrebeyler, @blocktrades, @yabapmatt, and @mahdiyari as witnesses!

rsz_1upvote_button.png

Sort:  

It's hard for me to recall my dream most of the times... Guess you're lucky @evlachsblog

Yes, I usually remember my dream, although I don't consider it as being lucky, because I want to remember just the good ones. But having Jodie Foster in my dream was weird. I had a dream once when both Scott Speedman and Scott Foley were in it. I was in high school and most certainly I had that dream because of the TV series Felicity.

@sarahdandridge, can you remember me telling you about this dream a long time ago?

Ate, you always seem to read my mind. How did you know that I was writing down my dreams? Lol. I actually do that before my brains delete it in my memories- those dreams which I think and feel there's significance in my life.

It's like we have a telepathic connection, and we're not even twins!!! LOL! I want to develop this idea into a habit, who knows, I will be able to write a fiction that no one has ever read or watched before. Here I am just wishful thinking.

That's wild a dream in a dream! What happened next with Jodie? I don't believe you don't remember!

Haha! I was the lead star in both my dreams so I don't know what happened to her. All I know is if I didn't wake up, something bad would have happened, or she might be one of those dead bodies that were dumped outside that house.

Very interesting. Actually I started to write down my dreams whenever I woke up in the night... I have a pretty bad sleep in general so I also stopped to do it quite fast once I disturb myself even more. Next morning mostly you can’t remember that clear anymore

Yes, we easily forget our dreams. I guess because it never really happened in the real world so that's why it could never be embedded in our memory. And when we remember our dream and tell someone about it right away, more often than not that we will still forget that dream. It is amazing, though, how our brain operates in a mysterious way. The dream world fascinates me a lot.

Dream psychology is very complex as well... we dream about things we want, which happen in the past and so on. my friend studied a little and told me few things but there is a lot going on

That would be an interesting read. I will look into this dream psychology, but just the scientific or medical aspect of it, not the mystical aspect of dreaming.

Ironic, I was just talking about this with my room mate a second ago. Writing down dreams is like recording a snapshot of whatever random crap is going through your subconscious.

It's funny and odd at the same time how our brain works either consciously or subconsciously. I'd write those thoughts down, and then 5 years later read them again. That would be interesting.

Scary dreams always spoil the day but good thing when you open your eyes you feel great to know that this is not reality.😊

Yeah, they spoil my sleep, too. And usually, when it happens, I don't want to go back to sleep anymore, in case, my brain is just on hold, and the dream will continue when I fall asleep again. But when I have a good dream, I never want to open my eyes. I relive that dream and think about it until I fall asleep, but I wake up not even remembering what the dream was. All I know is that I had a beautiful dream. Just a shame that I can't even remember it anymore. You tend not to forget the scary ones.

Scary dreams always spoil the day but good thing when you open your eyes you feel great to know that this is not reality.😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63