The Quest...

in #steemit6 years ago

Warning: this is gonna be weird....

The scene is set: In a valley. Deep inside a green moist forest. It is getting dark and a bit foggy still. You walked away from your friends and the crowd. You are all alone. You have no clue on where you are anymore. You think you have walked to far, but you can hear something coming towards you.

YOU: (Looking confused around the place..)

  • “Hello? Anybody? Anybody here? Where am I? What is this place?”

A dark shaky voice rumbles up the woods

DARK SHAKY VOICE:

  • “Hello, Young one.” Welcome to this majestic place, where magic happens. You have come here, because of a reason and I will tell you. I am your guide through this quest and I will lead you.”

(A great bearded man appears in front of you. A warrior of some sort. His brown curly hair reaches his chest. In his right hand he brings a big silver glincing sword and wears a long dark greenish coat and big boots. The dark voice belongs to he who now stands stands tall in front of you…)

YOU: (You are tripping as you are walking backwards and continue crab-walking trying to get up)

  • “I. Uhm. I just accidentally ended up here.. It doesn’t look that interesting and I don’t really understand the place.. I think I might have gone too far..

(You are almost leaving - still glancing around for an exit somewhere - though not really to be seen anywhere….)

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • “NO!.. DON’T!... YOU CANNOT LEAVE. You have gone this far. You mustn’t turn your back now. You are the Chosen one. It is you - and only you, who can complete this task. You must accept the quest.
    (Pause…) So.. Young one.. Accept and I’ll give you a map for you to find the magic beans..”

YOU:

  • “Arrgh.. (hesitating..) Right - Alright then.. I’ll listen to you, but you should know; I have my doubts about this!”

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • “This.. This is a magnificent place - where money grows on trees. Yes. But as you see.. The trees we have in the garden at the moment are small still though. We need you to help take care of the plants.

YOU:

  • “Plants?! Trees?? You want me to be your gardener!?

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • Not quite. But in some way still.. Now this big quest include some minor quests.

YOU:

  • You want me to go find soil and water and stuff then right? So now I have to shop for you too is that it?

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • You are a quite sassy one aren’t you?

YOU:
(You just blinking staring)

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • “The name of the foreign land goes by “Steemit”. This is where great content grows and flows. But for it to work everyone has to help out. Once you grow a tree you shall take care of it. You must cultivate it and make it thrive. Then the seeds will come thereof and you will get money. The love you give will make them grow and they will give the same to you.

  • Now. I will give you three quests and explain them to you. Listen carefully. I will only say them once.”

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • “Quest numberes uno”

YOU:

  • “That’s not how you say it in spanish...”

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • “SILENCE - YOUNG ONE!”

(Pause)

  • “First you must find the subject at hands. From some you will hear it as that you have a ‘Niche’.”

YOU:

  • “I have a niece?”

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • “No. A Niche! This will be your area of expertise. Though you do not need to be an expert, but if you choose to cultivate it - One day. You will be an expert. Your secret power it will be!”

YOU:

  • “Okay okay. So how do I find this ‘secret power’ that I assumably already have? - which clearly isn’t secret, when you know of it..”

THE GREAT WARRIOR:
(shaking his head as the sassiness gets tiresome to him)

  • “It can be anything of interest to you. It can be food, pets, photography, to sports or betting - these are just a few of my personal favorites! Your interests will be your niches and these you will write about on Steemit.”

YOU:
(Slowly nodding head in agreement)

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • But. IT IS YOU WHO MUST CHOOSE! - AND ONLY YOU WHO CAN.

YOU:

  • So I have to choose? I have to choose now?

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • Nay. (Pause) young one. You do not have to choose and you do not have to choose now. You must think upon your interests and find what works for you. It is of great possibility that you have several. However though it is more likely to find like-minded with a little bit narrower field of interests. I am not saying that you should set a limit - but merely don’t exaggerate your niches - you will confuse The Others and thee will not be able to find you.

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • QUEST NUMBER DEUX!

YOU:

  • “You really like to change it up a bit with does languages don’t you?”

THE GREAT WARRIOR:
(Silencely looks at you with an empty stare blinking)

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • “You must find The Others.”

YOU:

  • “‘The Others’? Who.. or.. ehm what are they?”

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • “Once you find your niche, you will have to find The Others. These are them with the likewise superpowers as you. You get stronger once you work together. And the gathered strength affects the whole community.

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • “Quest number drei - the final one!”

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • You must now interact with one another. This way you will find the mobility and the strength inside you. You will talk to The Others as you would have them talk to you. You will respect each other and find common ground.

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • “Here is a short summary of the quests
  • Quest 1: You must find your Niche
  • Quest 2: You must find The Others
  • Quest 3: You must Interact.”

YOU:

  • “You said you’d only explain them once?”

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

  • “GET TO WORK YOUNG ONE!” In the great land of Steemit - it is you and only you, who can complete this quest.

YOU:

  • So uhm. There was. eh. Something with magic. eh. beans or something?

THE GREAT WARRIOR:

This was a ‘how-to-use-steemit’ post by @fiesoerensen
I hope you understood the metaphors regarding this universe or just ask if you are in doubt. I kinda took this and made it to my own.. Haha

I hope you enjoyed the read and are ready for a long and happy adventure on this great platform we call Steemit.

Feel free to ask questions if you have any. I myself is still a bit new to this community and for some it might takes a bit time to get the feeling of it. If I can’t answer your questions I can probably guide you towards somebody who can :)

Have a nice adventurous time!

What is the best thing about Steemit you think?

This post was made in regards for the competition bye @abh12345 - You can read the post here: https://steemit.com/welcometosteemit/@abh12345/competition-welcometosteemit

Sort:  

I kind of like the screenplay style you chose, humorous and fun read, and informative. Can't beat that for ease of use and understanding.

Thanks. I kinda started at somewhere and it sounded okay.. Then it sorta snowballed and got a little out of hand and it got..well.. a bit weird... 😅

I love this!! How fun😀thanks for sharing my video too♡I hope it helps some folks on their journey!

You are welcome. And thanks 😊

haha this is awesome, and a great entry to @abh12345's contest :)

Thanks. Throughout the writing I kept thinking "This is weird.. And only getting weirder - maybe I should rewrite the thing'. But I think it ended fairly well 😅

It did :) You went with weird and it worked haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68737.86
ETH 3840.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62