Finally I Achieved 64 Reputation! (Why I Do Care?)

in #steemit5 years ago

I remember when i first joined Steemit and had no clue about how the system worked. After made my first post i saw a number in my profile to be a little increased compare to the 25 it was at first. Quickly, i read some posts and i realize this was the reputation level each user had and apparently the more you earned the better score you could obtain.

Also, the whole process was keep getting harder so you needed more effort, more posts and more payouts in order to increase your reputation. My naive mind back then saw all those people with rep of 60 and above like credible people that are in Steemit way longer than me and know their stuff. For some reason i also thought that all these people had "money" and a lot of Steem power and that i should be careful when talking to them in order to avoid any flags. 

The truth was quite different though

Soon enough i understood how this system works and as most of you know by now what i believed with what's really the case is completely different. To begin with, the rep level is just a number that means absolutely nothing. People can easily use bid-bots, pay a couple of bucks and "magically" they can surpass the rep level of 60. 

This is something i have seen multiple times in here to the point that it's considered quite common. Moreover, i have seen whales and orcas keep voting their friends over and over again or alt account ;) no matter the content thus increasing steadily the reputation level of those accounts.

Aside from that we have the "Flag Wars". Those wars are most of the times between whales but don't just stop there, as the supporters of each whale get a piece of these flags. Thus you may see accounts with let's say 65 rep get to 50 or even get to -10 but still nobody loses their credibility or sp.

Why I Do Care About My Reputation Level?  

Even though i know all the stuff i mentioned above i consider my reputation as something important. It's not that i have a lot of SP or consider myself great and credible but i have give another perspective to my rep level. I have never used bid bots and thankfully i am not a victim of the flag wars. That being sent, my reputation keeps growing naturally by me making posts that i like. 

My last phrase has a deeper meaning as there multiple people that are making specific posts not because they like it but in order to earn more money. I am not one of these people and you can easily see than in my payouts! I stick to my ideals and the things that i love and till now i make posts with things that i like no matter how long it will take or what the payout will be.  

In other words when i look at my Reputation i see the effort i put to reach this level. I see my travel throughout Steemit and i also see that i had remained the same person in terms of ethic and ideals that i used to be when i first joined! To level 65 and beyond! 

images and gifs 1 2 3
Sort:  

I recently got into the 50's and was happy for that but what I really want is to get to 1,000 followers. I enjoy the back and forth from my fellow Steemians. It gives one a sense of community. It is also cool that we are interacting with people all over the world. Congrats on getting into the 60's. I think I need another 8 months to join you. I never used bid bots, either.

good for you reaching 50's! Followers don't matter that much in my opinion cause most of them are bots,scammers or people that left the platform. For example i have 1600 and i mostly take 30 upvotes for some loyal followers and friends. The key is interaction with others in order to built relationships with people. Also try to join a community that you find interesting!

How do you find communities? Also do you have any you recommend.

i have opened in a tab your profile since 2 days ago to read some of your posts and still i don't have the time but i will definitely will!

Anyway i guess if you click in the search bar "communities" or scroll through the community tag you will find some but let's try this. Tell me some of your interests and i will try and think if i know any community. Also there are some communities depending on the nationality you are!

After your reply, if i can't think any close to your interests i will just state the ones that i know :P

My interests, in no particular order are science, technology, space travel, science fiction, music, film, strategic foresight, travel, and crypto currencies. I avoid politics and religion because it always tends to become real nasty when people disagree about something and are cloaked in anonymity. I live in Texas but I love Latin America (Costa Rice is my favorite) and Europe (Spain is my favorite). I am determined to get to Thailand and Tahiti someday. OK, so any ideas?

check @steemstem

that's one of the biggest communities in here and it's revolving around science (stem). the community on discord is also great and very active so probably you will like it in there. If you write posts related with science and follow their guidelines and the deem them "worthy" you can get upvotes up to 40+$

I have written many posts related to science and that community so what i am talking about is valid. As i said again, you need to read a bit about them and follow their guidelines in order to achieve that or if don't wanna write post you can just interact with interesting people and read their scientific posts!

Cool. Thank you so much.

i happy to help!

Congratulationnsssss! It indeed is a great achievement to grow your reputation at that level organically! And we your loyal followers are proud of you! :)

As for my experince on reputation, when I first started here on Steem, I honestly thought that number refers to one's age. Lol At one point I was like, wow crypto people are old as I see some accounts at around 60.

Posted using Partiko Android

And we your loyal followers are proud of you! :)

hahaha

Lol At one point I was like, wow crypto people are old as I see some accounts at around 60.

hahahahaha

congratulations

Συγχαρητήρια φίλε μου !!! Πολύ όμορφο πόστ...!!! Και εις ανώτερα !!!

ευχαριστώ πολυ!

Congrats. To be honest , I rarely , very rarely read posts from people with rep below 60.

yea nowadays the same applies for me too

So it is not so unimportant as many claim after all.

Posted using Partiko Android

Συγχαρητήρια!Άντε γρήγορα να φτάσεις το 70.

euxaristo poli! για να φτασω 70 θελω χρονια :P

Hi @filotasriza3!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.431 which ranks you at #2120 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #134.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

congrats! it means you've been active for a long time, or you've been getting a lot of votes 😁

and i hope the downvote goes away in the future. it's pretty clear it does more harm than good.

and not using bots :P

i think they need to find ways to get read of the scammers. They did it in a way with the whole RC thing but we still have some. The downvotes help to take any $$ from their payouts and hide their posts/comments. As usual though some people use it for the so called flag wars!

Yeeey! Congratulations!!! :)) Άντε και στο 70 τώρα (μέχρι που φτάνει άραγε?)!! :)

δν νομιζω να χουν βαλει κανα οριο, δν εχω ιδεα :P Για να φτασω 70 θελω χρονια ακομα :P

Congrats man😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Your very welcome ☺

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00