You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Voice" (MEOS) Announcement ... Much Ado About Nothing

in #steemit5 years ago

@quillfire

As I noted in my tweet: a perfect example of a damp squibb. It occurred to me, reading your post and some of the comments, that external developments overtook them - but after they had created all the hype over the June 1 announcement.

I know Twitter has its issues, but to set up in opposition? That's farting against thunder. As Google learned with Google+ in opposition to Facebook. And now Facebook wants to launch its own token? I think that will be really interesting given some of the real challenges on that platform, and where censorship, on one hand, and face news, on the other, are realities.

Perhaps, as you suggest, this is Steemit's second chance.

In the contexts of your predicates (and caveats) with which, as you know, I agree, perhaps @dan and co. should grab the brass ring and do something about netting those lesser fish who are willing and able to help with the clean-up.

Fiona

PS I am smiling to myself, too, at how you managed to post this update sans egg on your face.... ;)

Sort:  

@fionasfavourites,

PS I am smiling to myself, too, at how you managed to post this update sans egg on your face.... ;)

And THAT'S why they call me ... "The Quill." :-) :-) :-)
.
As I mentioned to @dandays:

The line that made the final cut:

"The predicates were not fulfilled."

The original line was:

"Thank God for predicates."

I opted for seriousness over humor. In any event, I took pains to cover my ass with conditional predicates as cryptoworld long ago convinced me of its illogic and unpredictability. :-)

At some point, you stop taking anything for granted. If cryto-gurus tell you, "It's Wednesday," you pull out the star charts just to make sure.

Quill

You had me at -
Farting against thunder

PS I am smiling to myself, too, at how you managed to post this update sans egg on your face.... ;)

Definitely a skill an industry skill Ad man. I imagine you take great joy in an alternate spin. Fiona, I enjoy you calling him out on it too.

Edit. Peter Griffin demonstrated, you have to fart with the thunder, but even then, the storm moves and you are caught out trumping unappealing hot air.

@girlbeforemirror,

Nag, nag, nag.

Listen lassies, conditional predicates are a time-tested way of opining with paying the price of having an opinion. A Cover Your Ass strategy that allows one to live to fight another day. And, you have to admit, launching a crypto-backed social media platform ... sans the crypto-backing ... wasn't exactly a high probability event, was it?

I think I'm going to write a poem entitled, "Mean Girls." Both of you are going to get your own stanzas. :-)

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59048.85
ETH 2984.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71