One Year On Steemit... A Look Back, A Look Ahead

in #steemit6 years ago

One of the first things I shared on steemit was our son's wedding last August. The happy couple are quickly coming up on their first anniversary! They still have their steemit accounts and intentions of getting active again but raising three toddlers pretty well chews up their time these days!

DSCF1402.JPG


In September, I shared the view from Brundage Mountain, our local ski resort. They offer mountain biking in the summer, or you can just go up and check out the amazing view.

20170902_122816.jpg

By October, I had learned to take selfies for the epic selfie contest hosted by @papa-pepper. I was using this new-found skill to join other contests too, like the beer challenge by @craigcryptoking.

20171014_183542.jpg


It took a bit of prodding, but I soon had my husband in on the silliness, too!

20171014_185253.jpg

Before long, I was dragging the entire neighborhood into the game. Moments like this make you REALLY love your neighbors!
20171116_202259.jpg

In November, I shared my love of the shiny and won a 2017 Steemit Round from @papa-pepper with this contest entry:




In December, I shared the musical um... "talents" of our local Whoville Choir. We may not sound that fabulous, but our little community LOVES US and we love to sing for them.

20171209_082620.jpg

Even my sweet, delicate fellow choir members got in on the selfie contest...

20171201_105710 (1).jpg


In January, I took you all along to our favorite restaurant and we all sat at "r" table and had a toast to the new year and the older me! This b-b-q joint is a ways down the road for us, so we only get there 3 or 4 times a year. Behind @warpedweaver is a brand on the wall M/C - our initials. We have been in there when the place was nearly full, and that table has been open and waiting for us almost every single time... It is totally "r" table lol!

20180101_125650.jpg


February saw two new additions to the homestead, as Stinkerbelle and Tricksy both delivered their first healthy calves and Bessie Moo became a grannycow!

DSCF3091.JPG


March was when I decided to try to park my truck in the creek. I am going to have to drive back out there soon and see how it looks. That area is probably burned off now.

20180314_124314.jpg


April, of course, brought spring showers...
DSCF2135 (1).JPG


The rain, of course, led to May flowers (not the ship...)
DSCF2144 (1).JPG


June brought me new shiny in the mail!!! 2018 Steemit rounds, fresh from the mint!

20180623_143232.jpg


July brought the fire. Going through photos to make this post was a little hard. I have hundreds of pictures of flowers and trees that are probably dead now. I KNOW it will regenerate the forest, but it is still hard. Those plants are alive, they are my friends, I grieve their loss. That does not diminish how grateful I am that it got no closer to us than this:

20180728_143054.jpg

Here we are at August again...
We just had our wedding anniversary and we shared that with you all, too...

20180802_081922.jpg

A full year of memories, and I have barely scratched the surface of what steemit has meant to me. I am a writer, just by nature. If you took away my keyboard I would get a pen. If you took away my pen I would scratch in the dirt. I just WRITE, it is how I process information. The ability to come here and just WRITE, about whatever strikes my fancy on any given day, has been an incredible gift. To be able to make a little crypto is a nice bonus, but coming here is where I learned what crypto was all about. The crypto would never have brought me here without the writing aspect. I had been pretty anti-bitcoin before I came here for an education. Finding the steem-silver-gold community here has really helped me blend "old me" (a silverbug) with the new crypto-updated me. The artist community here has inspired me to get back into writing poetry and making music, a HUGE thank you to @enginewitty, @angelveselinov and @luzcypher for their support of steemit's artists, even the hacks like me! There was even a "Vision Quest" going on for a while that helped me get back into creatively expressing my spiritual side (thanks, @cabelindsay!) My photography skills are MUCH improved, thanks in no small part to the great photographers here like @tattoodjay. I HOPE my blogging is also better, I do want to thank @c0ff33a for inspiring me to try some new things and up my blogging game.

I thought I would be like "Permaculture Woman" here but it turned out there were a TON of people who already understood the concept and were doing a fine job teaching it. I still owe @mariannewest some podcasts, this living dynamo is one of those people. I am still not disciplined or good at it but with her help, I learned to do podcasts because of steemit.

He has left the platform now, but I still want to give a shoutout to @libertyteeth, the first "old friend" I found here, and I found him almost immediately. He and I were buddies back in the Ron Paul campaign on an RP forum. Indeed, the only "old buddies" I have found here are liberty lovers I met along the way... I find that to be among the BEST things about steemit. Liberty is well understood and appreciated here!

One last "thank you" to the youtuber who convinced me to come check out steemit, @joshsigurdson. I am not going to try to list everyone I would like to thank, there have been just so many kind words and deeds on this journey I would miss too many people if I even tried. Let it suffice to say this has been the most amazing online experience of my life. I have laughed, cried, bitched, moaned and threatened to leave over and over but the truth is simple: This platform is STILL a one of a kind, and I feel very lucky to be a part of it, sharing this grand adventure with YOU!

In the coming year, I HOPE to focus a little more on the art and music, although I seem to be getting sucked back into politics these days so do not be surprised to see more commentary on that topic, mostly as it relates to things like the metals market and TRUTH. Funny, but I find politics a much better arena for disseminating and discussing real, core truth than religion... lol! I also hope to improve my photography skills. I am blessed to live in SUCH a beautiful place, I hope to share that beauty more effectively. I look forward to keeping up with the friends I have made and making new friends. I had hoped to help host a Pacific Northwest Steemit Meet and Greet with @arbitrarykitten this year but her life got tossed through a tunnel, maybe next year something like that could happen...?

THANK YOU FOR YOUR FRIENDSHIP AND SUPPORT!

Here's to another GREAT YEAR AHEAD!

www.kizoa.com_collage_2018-04-10_08-31-59.jpg

Sort:  

Wow congrats on a year! I'm just working on my own 1 year anniversary post. I didn't realize we started here at the same time! DTube was broken for the first few months of my time here so I couldn't get my posts to work. In January it started working a little better and my posting increased to a frantic pace. I always feel like I'm trying to catch up!

Yeah, I did not realize you had been on here that long, it must have taken a while to find each other. But it LOVELY to have your friendship and support across the years and platforms!

Hi @fishyculture! This is just to let you know that...


You got SNEKKED!
Because we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our 22th curation compilation if you don't mind! If you don't want to be featured, please let us know!

You can find us on Discord -:


https://discord.gg/VWJxTEz

Thank you so much!!!

I think I met you about the time the car hit the creek and then got sidetracked with off Steemit issues about the time of your road trip.
You certainly had an eventful year. Wishing you many more Steemit adventures.

It has been a most interesting year, thank you for the kind words and support!

My goodness the keyboards taken a bashing over the past few days, it must be the relief from escaping the massive fire.

It’s all good stuff though, at least you are still here an with us - that’s the important thing. And while Steem value is still a bit low, the potential just keeps growing to gain.

I was challenged by @nainaztengra to do a half year review for 2018 - it’s still lurking at the back of my mind to do it - like a flea. I’ll probably get there eventually!

Thanks for the mention and keep Steeming on 🤗

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

A half year review from you would be most interesting! And yes, the fire and everything that has kept me tied up seems to have left me with a backlog of words to spew... lol!

Cool year in review post. Steem on!

Thank you, that is the plan!

I just WRITE, it is how I process information

Reminds me of myself. Writing is the best form of expression for me

Congratulations on your first year here dear, hopefully the next year will be a blast

Thanks very much, I think it will be an excellent year!

Happy Stemmversary :) been a pleasure to get to know you on here and looking forward to seeing your second year on here :)

Thank you kindly! I hope you feel the same way in another year!

Congrats on your one year anniversary here! You are right about getting attached to people whom you don't even know and chances are slim to none you'll ever meet. Everyone offers their unique perspective on their journey through life, it's almost like reading a book that you know is alive....now there's a odd thought...lol.

Oh, I LOVE that odd thought! That is it! Each blog is an autobiography in progress, even the author does not know what the next chapter will be until they live it!

Exactly....and it's exciting, you never know what someone will post next. Like the wild fire it leaves the readers on edge, they have a personal but distance stake with the author.

Congratulations on both Anniversary's!! Beautifully written and thanks for sharing so many lovely memories!! ❤

Thank you, my friend!

You're very welcome @fishyculture!! xoxo

Happy Steem Anniversary, @fishyculture! Glad I met you as a friend here and that you have hung in. It has been a wild ride. My anniversary came and went and I was too dang busy to notice! I will have to rectify that next year! Here's to another bigger and better year, my friend! 🍻

🍻
Looking forward to the day we can have an ice cold beer together... perhaps in a steaming hot spring, that makes it taste even better! THANK YOU for your support and kindness!

Me too! You are welcome, my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95