You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Theory.

in #steemit7 years ago

Nice diagramming. There is another imbalance that I think is an issue. Vote weight ought to be countereed with number of votes you can post. New minnows need to be able to upvote everything we like. We are tying to make friends, and even a "worthless" vote says "I like you!" We are not going to "rape the reward pool" with our penny votes. As a person's vote becomes worth more and more, then limits on number of votes ought to be put in place. My two cents worth... except it ain't worth 2 cents yet!

Sort:  

you have the option of scaling down your vote weight so you can vote more often. I can vote hundreds of times at 0% or even 1%. There have been suggestions to have a "LIKE" button that is disconnected with the upvote button though, which i think falls in line with your suggestion.

Could be I am not up to speed on this. I was under the impression I could not do that until I achieved a certain level of influence, that you don't get a slider bar until you are nearing dolphin status? If that is wrong, I do not know how to do adjust my vote weight. And no, I am not suggesting have the upvotes have NO value. Somehow, we have to be able to reward NEW creators as they come in. The other newbies are MOST likely to spot them, the whales have their little teams of people they follow already. I am talking about a way to let the little guys lift each other up, independent of dolphins and whales. We need SOME vote power to do that.

if you click on the upvote, a slider bar should show up. I am not near a dolphin by any means, and it shouldnt be something you can lock/unlock with more SP. I think I understand what you are saying, which is to be able to have more 100% upvotes as a minnow?

That's an interesting concept. What stops a minnow from constantly upvoting themselves if they have that ability? This becomes an issue with prioritizing one account over another on a code level.

Why do you suggest

other newbies are MOST likely to spot them

I think curators and people addicted to a specific type of content will spot them instead (likely seasoned users). The newbies will be too busy trying to get the attention of whales and dolphins, which is the case right now.

Would be an interesting experiment to run. I know I have gotten where I am interacting with newbies for the most part. The few interactions I have had with whales, they generally don't upvote my stuff, just comment.
As for self-upvoting, that could be worked into the transition out of having extra votes. When you reach a certain level of influence, your extra votes go away and self-upvoting becomes automatically disabled. I think that needs to happen anyway. It seems a MUCH bigger problem to me to have the whales upvoting themselves. And I just do not see the slider bar you are talking about! Yeah, I am blonde but a fairly clever blonde, but missing something here!

You get the vote slider when you are near 500 SP. However, if you use it right away, your votes of course will be worth less, so you must make a choice... keep giving 100% votes at 4 to 5 cents each or drop the amount in order to give more votes. I prefer to keep my vote value as high as I can since the value is already so low. The trouble is that I run out of VP too quickly and can't give out as many votes as I would like to! Anyway... I have a way to go to get my slider, so in the meantime I'm always running out of vote power.

I THINK busy.org offers a vote-slider to all users, so you could use that portal and have a slider now (I may be mistaken). Unfortunately, I find it a bit non-intuitive to use, so I continue using steemit.com as my portal to the blockchain.

With the price of Steem at close to $1, it seems that your vote is worth roughly 1 cent for every 100 SP.

Thank you for that explanation! I knew there was something, was very fuzzy on exactly what.

You are most welcome!

Glad you got your answer!

The slider appears when you have 500 SP with which to vote. I am told eSteem app has a slider available for folks with less.

And if Krill are self-voting, Imma panic. Run! The rewards pool has been scammed, scammed I say, for $.11!

Their ability to network will depend on their integrity, and that will determine their ability to gain more than $.11/day. I would be fairly surprised if the community didn't nip that kind of thing in the bud - unless we have already run off all the folks averse to such shenanigans with the extant oligarchy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67617.45
ETH 3777.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69