Steemit Changed

in #steemit6 years ago

It’s been a long time coming, the quest to differentiate Steemit the social network from STEEM the blockchain and currency. Apparently loads of work had been going on in the background and are just being put out to somehow wow folks. First it was the UI update and now a new look for Steemit the social network brand.

cover image
source

This rebrand should have actually been the biggest news for me from the release but it has been marred a little by something I’ll touch on later. The biggest news instead is...

Wait for it...

04B532FB-8D10-49AC-A956-F887CF89668C.jpeg

Night Mode!

It’s what my Twitter has been on since the day twitter decided to roll out the feature.

AFD37653-2669-4D76-80B0-270F61259075.jpeg

Night mode is the winner for me because it makes the whole experience of using Steemit in the dark a lot better and easier on my eyes. From the moment I made the switch to night mode, my eyes immediately thanked me for it. Now I can wake up as early as I want and be on Steemit without lighting up the whole room. It also means I can stay as late as I want without any troubles to my eyes.

Overall, it means more time spent on Steemit!

Also, the mobile app mockup looks awesome and I can’t wait to get my hands on that bad boy. Incase you’re looking for beta testers, @sneak, I’m up for adoption lol. I’d seriously love to test it out soon and I really can’t wait. I’m a big sucker for aesthetics and lately the improvements on Steemit have been exciting but as with everything else, there’ll always be little “not so good” patches here and there.

My Concerns About The New Steemit

The Steemit brand and logo are protected by intellectual property laws, including copyright and other proprietary rights of the United States and foreign countries. This is to allow Steemit to protect the brand and logo in ways that extend user safety. One may not make unauthorized commercial use of, reproduce, prepare derivative works, distribute copies, perform, or publicly display the Steemit logo or brand, except as permitted by the doctrine of fair use or as authorized in writing by us. - @steemitblog

As a community builder and one who is engaged in organizing offline events around the Steemit community, the above statement brings more questions than answers to me.

  • What does this mean as regards to any push to promote Steemit as a passionate Steemian online and offline?

  • Does this mean all I get to promote is STEEM the blockchain/currency?

  • How “fair” is the doctrine of fair use?

  • If I had it in mind to put up a billboard in my community to promote Steemit, does this mean I won’t be able to place the Steemit name and logo on it?

These and a billion other questions are what have been on my mind since the announcement and I’m seriously hoping to get enough clarification ASAP. Until then, I can’t get enough of this new night mode. I’m sure I’m not the only one this excited about it 😀.

Sort:  

Does this mean all I get to promote is STEEM the blockchain/currency?

Do you actually want to promote 'Steemit'? We're not stakeholders in Steemit Inc, they have their own private investors. We are giving those investors free labor when we promote Steemit instead of Steem.

Yeah I think that’s the main point. STEEM is what we’re all to promote. Steemit was(is) only an example of what’s possible on the STEEM blockchain.

So anyone can also start their project on the Steem blockchain just like Steemit!

Let's hope that you're allowed to put up billboards with the new Steemit logo all over Nigeria! The color is perfect!

Just a steem logo(Steem != Steemit) should be possible. Since Steem is just another tech, were Steemit is a actual company.

There’s the part of “...written permission” so maybe an official application would have to be tendered.

Yes! The color is perfect!

I love green <3

and what do you think about the new logo?? Do you like it??

Well, I think the logo works; speech bubbles in the form of an “s” for Steemit.

Maybe, I feel like I've seen it somewhere before and seems like a familiar-kind logo to me.

Hmm, that bit about copyright, could that cause issues for those on Steemit who sell items using that logo and actually profit in SBD/STEEM (or other currencies) from its use.
Scary thought that needs clarification from Steemit Inc.

Yeah that bit too! Merchandising will exclusively be a Steemit Inc. thing.

What's happening to steemit Inc. Why that copy right law? Well let's just think positively about this platform ooh. Because this law can drive many people away leaving only the whales to mine there own post. I am still waiting for @ned. I believe there is a reason for all this change?

From @steemitblog

In case it is currently a hang-up in creating those artworks, we are going to get more specific with the carve outs around "non-commericial" and posts earning STEEM here for the sake of the community soon. In the meantime, if the use is non-commercial and "fair use" (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fair_use), then it is totally OK!

steemitblog70 · 3 hours ago

To date we've never had VC! (except a small angel investment prior to launch of Steem)

The purpose of the copyright restrictions is to enable Steemit to protect users from malicious websites (think phishing attacks) that attempt to employ the Steemit logo or trademark. We now need to find the wording and balance to allow the community to comfortably use the logo simultaneously. Stay tuned

-n

Thanks for this!

You are welcome

Cool.... I love the different shoe concept

I particularly like the night mode. Great for night steeming :)

This part worries me too..

The Steemit brand and logo are protected by intellectual property laws, including copyright and other proprietary rights of the United States and foreign countries.

Many of them are using Steemit logo for their photos, footer signatures, community development activity etc. A lot usage is from Steemit posts, which in a way is considered commercial(that is why unauthorized copyright photos are discouraged here). I hope Steemit team will come up with more clarity.

I now believe we owe it to ourselves to promote STEEM the blockchain/currency and not Steemit. Steemit is a company that belongs to its investors while Steem is the one that belongs to us all

Yes the whole statement needs to be clarified because the copy-right part is not cool at all. I hope they provide answers soon.

You definitely aren't the only bro, been offline for a while but decided to breeze in today to see what's up. There have been quite a lot of changes especially with the UI which looks way lot better and gives a better user-friendly environment. These are some of the much-awaited developments which I had anticipated on the platform, I hope this is just the beginning as I am looking forward to other features such as advanced privacy setting and the likes which would make Steemit a more safer media environment.

As regards the new copyright terms associated with the new logo, you promoting steemit as a social platform wouldn't come through as an infringement, but when the intent is personal gain motivated especially on a commercial scale that would surmount to a breach.

Yay! It’s nice to know you’re back 😊

As regards the copyright, I feel it’s left to Steemit Inc to promote Steemit. We however have the freedom to promote Steem as we like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75