You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tell me how you got to Steemit and what you plan on doing here and get 100% whale vote.

in #steemit6 years ago

I got here because I've written about electronic music pretty much on passion only for a good 5 or 6 years. My brother pointed it out and I thought "why not give it a go?"

I came in and sought out electronic music. It was next to impossible to find. I've managed to carve out a small niche on the electronicmusic tag and the community is getting to be a bit more vibrant. I'm going around giving people $0.06 here and there, it isn't a lot, but it at least gives a niche an idea that there is someone out there. Hoping that the communities update gives something a bit more concrete to work in rather than the loose agreement of a tag. There are some great people plugging away and we need all the hands on we can get. Spread it and grow.

While that is good for the community, I plan on doing something for myself. First off, get to 500SP, to at least ease the pressure on tanking my VP consistently. Next, amass some cash to get myself a Surface Pro to replace the MacBook my lad stood on. MacBook = more writing, being able to mix again. If I can mix again, I can do more varied content over here. Little nugget mixes culled from my promo stack. If things go well, some cash will go to my wedding this year and/or trying to get me on a debt free path so I can get a house for my kids where they have a bedroom each.

It's not about what I'm doing on here, though. I'm amassing contacts and attempting to secure interviews for music industry people in terms of looking at blockchain as a viable option for income. I've sat on this place for four months and have learnt about a good few solutions, so now it is just about getting the talking heads in for comment.

So that's me on Steemit. Working a niche, as ever.

Sort:  

This is my choice, one thing that is important to me is getting more than just crypto, travel, and art here. There is so much of the same, for Steemit to grow, there needs to be more communities and niches prospering.

Good luck here!

Thank you ipromote! Yeah, carving out a niche is hard and it takes time. I don’t want to become some mega central entity (the big groups are great but sometimes too broad in scope), I just want everyone there to have a stab of serving the niche ecosystem. Doesn’t really matter if someone is a fresh 25 rep, veteran, doing mega posts or quick thoughts - it’s about distributing the ability for everyone to show the appreciation and also work towards their own individual goals.

+1 for variety, it’s also good to ensure the only topic on Steem isn’t about how to use Steem!

well deserved and what ipromote is saying is spot on with this community, now when you say electronic music what does that cover my man??

Best advice - click over to my profile page and you'll see my link to my Inverted Audio profile. I've been writing there for... I'm not sure, 3 or 4 years? House, techno, electro, ambient - everything in between.

I've been through the whole load of sounds on the electronic scene. Speak to me two years ago and I would have said I'd find the prospect of covering an ambient album intimidating. Last year, it was possibly the genre I wrote about the most.

Well done, well deserved, great article :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69394.55
ETH 3894.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73