Simple Steemit Feature Proposal - A Blog View Without Resteems

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I don't know about you, but when I visit a fellow steemian's profile, I am usually interested in their original content and not so much their resteems.

Of course there are plenty of steemians who are great curators and focus on resteeming. I appreciate that and I follow a bunch of those. The resteems are a great feature for populating my feed and they do belong on the user profile's landing page.

What i'd like to see is a way to filter the blog page, or maybe even better, to keep the interface free of clutter a few extra tabs on the profile page. Something like this:

steemitprofiletabs.gif
steemit profile with added tabs to view posts and resteems separately

Is it just me or would you like to see an option like this, too?

Your upvotes help getting this noticed.

Thanks for stopping by!

P.S.: The label "Stream" (in the image above) for the home-tab on a profile was a bad choice I think... maybe something like "Feed" would be more on point here
P.P.S.: Maybe "Stream" wasn't such a bad idea but just bad spelling?! "Streem" sounds pretty good imho!


follow @fraenk

...it's free

Sort:  

A lot of people would like this. Me included. I'm usually unfollow people with too many resteems. So annoying.

I like to resteem, and sometimes I have found interesting posts because others resteemed them. But, I agree with you, and your solution, and having a way to separate resteems is a great idea...

It would nice also to just filter stuff out on someone's blog view. Like "show all", "show just posts", "show just resteems", etc.

cool, thanks for the support!

I do like the resteem feature myself and I believe it is powerful and important to spread good content.

Hence the proposal of adding extra tabs to allow for a separation on steemian profiles.

This idea seems to be received quite well... Still unsure if I should forward it to [email protected] or let it linger for another while.

Hopefully you get more support and eyeballs on this post. Its probably a really simple solution to implement.

i've looked at the source on github and it probably really isn't too complicated... I am still puzzled where the definition of accountImm.get('blog') comes from... but maybe i'll find some time to dedicate and submit my very own pull request for steemit... that's a big maybe though!

Congratulations @fraenk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You read my mind. I was just thinking I want to resteem but I don't want to bury my own content. Even the whales and dolphins say thats what they want to see but everything is just lumped together. Good idea!!!

Great idea, i like your proposal.

Does that not defeat the purpose of the resteem? Perhaps limit the daily amount though...

no, i don't think it defeats the purpose of resteems at all.

resteems will still appear in our feeds (steemit home-page) and resteems will still be shown on the profile page. It's just an added view to easily distinguish between resteems and original content when you visit a steemian's profile

Oh, I see... Not a bad idea.

Simple and effective, can't see why this wouldn't at least be considered. Maybe a time delay/limit to hiding resteems so you can't just switch them off for good?

Congratulations @fraenk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43