[advice] should I be upvoting my own content?

in #steemit8 years ago

I notice that I can upvote my own comments...should I be upvoting them? Does it really matter if I do or dont?

Also, if I made a bot that auto upvotes each page that I'm on would that be considered useful or cheating? If it helps everyone in the aggregate earning power than I'm all for it. Let me know and I'll flesh out a tool (open source of course)

Sort:  

Very good question. I'm looking for an answer too.

If I'm not mistaken, you are rewarded based on how accurate your upvotes are. If you upvote yourself and your post turns out to be unpopular - i.e. no one else or very few others upvote - that may have a consequence. Would love to see someone clarify this.

You might earn more from making a bot that upvotes new content that seems to be doing well (got a few votes early on).

Good question I did it myself just now

I dont think they would allow auto bots who would auto upvote all posts, because it would ruin this system and whole concept of steemit!!!!

You are wrong, they allow bots vs peoples compétition.

I upvote my own posts, since that seems to be the default. I only up vote my own comments if I want them to be more visible.

I upvote comments on my comments when they say something useful.

So, I guess the whole upvoting question starts with the question of whether or not one should upvote as part of a strategy, or upvote because they liked the content?

When you vote, you lose voting strength which takes time to rebuild. You'd be much better off upvoting new content other people haven't discovered yet and being rewarded as a curator instead of your own comments. That said, when you are posting the original, you should go ahead and leave the check box checked to vote for it. Sometimes I'll upvote my own comment just to change it's order in the list.

thanks for this explanation, quite enlightening to someone still figuring things out!

It would better serve you to use a bot that comments instead of voting because the system only allows you to vote so many times in a time period. Your voting power regenerates over time but if you vote on everything it would not benefit anyone at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59