Proposal of features for steemit: “Difficulty Levels”

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

A simple solution to the problem of low-visibility for new users and their posts:


I propose this problem could be solved by using the same method as many video-games have: “Difficulty Levels”, game-developers use this method in order to make a game more satisfactory for all levels of users/players. There is usually Easy, Medium, and Hard.

Why not do something similar with steemit?

(To better understand my idea see the original illustrations I made below.)

COVER.jpg
image src @friendly-fenix

Basically it would mean that there would be three clones/versions made of the site, and the user could choose which one he/she wanted to browse, that would mean three different versions of trending, hot and new. Let’s say a “minnow version” of trending would include, the top rewarded minnow-posts, but when these users become "redfish" they would move on to the medium “redfish version” and then the “whale version” etc, and the user could choose what version/difficulty he/she wanted to browse using a slider.

interface2-nr1.jpg
image src @friendly-fenix

This would make it easier for minnows to get the experience of a fair chance at getting some visibility on the site, sure it would potentially make the “whale trending” section less visible (by individual choice), but initially the “whale-version” of trending would be what people who visited the site would see. The different "levels" could also be entangled in different inter-dynamic ways? Devs help me out here?

interface2-nr2.jpg
image src @friendly-fenix

What do you guys/girls think?

Is this something you would think could improve steemit?

Please tell me what you think in the comment section!!!

•Follow
•Upvote
•Resteem

Sort:  

Wow, now that is an interesting idea! I like it!

Thanks for your input @papa-pepper!
I really appreciate it, feel free to throw
the idea around... /FF

Congratulations @papa-pepper! You have received a vote as part of @friendly-fenix donation to this project.
I will be able to help more #minnows

Oh this is awesome 😊😍 I love it seriously and you're a genius sir 💖 can we do this please!

Thank you @kristyyd!!!
Yeah, I think we need something like this,
maybe try to push the idea,
I know most minnows would probably like it...
Not sure about them whales...???
😊

Just worry about us minnows 😛😎

Congratulations @kristyyd! You have received a vote as part of @friendly-fenix donation to this project.
I will be able to help more #minnows

That’s a really interesting idea. I imagine it wouldn’t be all that difficult to just filter out results to exclude posts which don’t fit the Steem Power criteria selected. It might also be interesting to have the trending/hot/new be drop down menus where people could select a preferred value right there.

Thank you for your feedback and upvote @lukestokes, I am glad you liked the idea! Choosing/selecting preferred value in a dropdown menu could also be a great idea! Again thank you very much for your input I really appreciate it! Feel free to "work" on the idea, and let me know what you come up with. Cheers!
/FF

Congratulations @lukestokes! You have received a vote as part of @friendly-fenix donation to this project.
I will be able to help more #minnows

I am talking to my dev now about doing this.. We can test it out on our website https://gosteem.com which is a Steemit condenser clone.

The levels I am thinking would be
Minnow= 0-10000 SP
Dolphin= 10001-50000 SP
Whale= 50001 +++++

@followbtcnews
Sounds like a great idea, test it out on https://gosteem.com and see what happens???!!!
Let me know how it goes! (The levels system sounds decent and the SP seams fairly divided).
This is great news! 👍🏻 I'm exited!

Congratulations @followbtcnews! You have received a vote as part of @friendly-fenix donation to this project.
I will be able to help more #minnows

Thank you @destinyworldwide!
Yeah it is a brief idea,
I am not a "developer" so I am not sure if it could be done in a good way,
but since steemit is in a "beta" stage,
and I have a web design background,
I thought I should bring this idea to the table...
(And since I also have been complaining a lot,
I thought I should contribute with something a bit more constructive)...
😁
Thank you again!

Resteemed to over 14700 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program.
APPICS is a new social community based on Steem.
The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon.
Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

It sounds like that might help us bottom feeders but also deprive us of the whale knowledge and maybe...upvote

Yes, ha ha, lol, bottom feeders, that sounds really funny, you are funny @dreamer007.
Yeah there would be "pros & cons" with this idea, I am sure it could be worked on... I don't really get that many "whale-votes" myself, I think it happened a few times and they use the voting power-slider, so they don't have to give "too much"... And I am pretty sure minnows would seek out "whale knowledge" anyway... But I could be wrong...

Well nothing to loose. You should keep on working on it. I will resteem so we get a few more people interested.good luck

I am going to try and pitch this idea to the people behind steemit...
Not sure how to get their attention, but...
-Why not?

wow, Great idea. Love this post. Happy steeming.

Thank you brother!

Great idea you got here mate👌 personally, I fully support this✌. @friendly-fenix

Epic @princeemmanuel, this is great! I need your support and the support of the community!

Thank you so much for your comment @lamexicana!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84