DOES REPUTATION ON STEEMIT ACTUALLY MEAN ANYTHING ANYMORE?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Like most people I have an ego.

Many years ago I had business cards with my name on them. They were blue with a white font. My name is IAN GREGSON. One of my co-workers coloured in some of the letters with a blue marker pen, and "IAN GREGSON" became "AN EGO"

We had a good laugh, but that was probably pretty accurate.

Although it doesn't really mean much, I enjoyed seeing my Steemit reputation slowly go up. But this year it stopped going up, and @sift666 got stuck on 64.

It's not 64.8 or anything, but 64.2, and it's taken six months to go from 64.0 to 64.2. My ego is packing a sad...


https://steemd.com/@sift666

To be realistic, unless I start using bidbots on that account too, I don't think I will ever see a rep of 65. Using bidbots on this new account I have just gone up from 25 to 50 in a week. It took about six months to hit a rep of 50 first time round.

If reputation means a happy ego, and I can just hit a few buttons and buy a big flash one with money that gets refunded in a few days anyway, it's taken me less than a week to start thinking "why not?"

Does this make me evil? - I honestly don't know, but I'm going to have to do a post about it.

My ego is satisfied (for now)

Sort:  

you think it has anything to do with the timing of EOS coming out, the payouts going to zero & the view counter taken off & the rise of the bots?

YES I DO!

For some reason I think you are one of the only people on Steemit who would see that, and the fact that your account is worth bugger all is why you are cool to say it.

Now I want to get to a place where in spite of being a conservative middle class Steemer I have as much nerve as you!

Block One Raised $4 Billion Dollars for the EOS ICO. Block One is registered in the Cayman Islands. The Cayman Islands, Lets go visit an Island TAX HAVEN, before the Ocean Rises & wipes them out.

And Now They're still Getting your money FROT, the $ you're putting in on the bots!

Don't CRAP OUT on the bots, I hope they pay off for you.

also I am still anonymous to a certain extent. I din;t publicly have my home, face or name plastered on my account. So just in case I ever have to go get my Real Estate License Again, I won't get STEEMIT Posting Used as Evidence in a HUD Housing Discrimination Complaint.

They seem to be so far - this account is one week old!

My main worry is that my real followers will disown me for being a sell out...

What on earth do you mean?

IMAG0260.JPG

😂😂

Love it buddy! 😀

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My sources say no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Your rep of 12 means that you are a pedophile...

You got a 8.02% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @frot!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Congratulations @frot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your reputation means more in the circle of people you communicate with anyway...the number score is just for looks, or 'gamification' likes.

I'm still working out a plan - if I'm able to come out ahead using bots I'll get this account up over 500SP and keep using it as my don't give a fuck account, but also keep using my sift666 account as my main one with all my friends and followers and big wallet - so that account is about doing my best on Steemit, while this one could be about letting rip

It's an interesting experiment, and I'm almost certain that's what bots are really good for. Building SP. I'm not convinced that it helps everyone with visibility, only because of the subject matter or topics we write about. I guess we will find out soon enough!

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67