You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thinking of Quitting Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

Could it be that you have a lot of follow-you-followme followers? If thats the fact, thats your problem. Most of these followers aren’t interested in your postings but are only interested that tou follow them.
If have been around for 2 months and still learning each day. I try to be active browse the categories which interest me and place genuine comments.
If you keep on doing this you will see that interaction starts to take place and you will become more hooked and interested into Steemit.
Keep the faith!

Sort:  

Thank you for the tip. I follow at the moment only 47 people. I didn't follow them in order to be followed in return.

I see that commenting more and posting less seems to be the better strategy in Steemit. Another problem I'm having is the low signal to noise ratio in the homepage, and trending and hot tabs of Steemit.

The interesting posts and people I have found were mostly as a result of Google searches instead of browsing Steemit. I can imagine that it takes quite a while until we figure out the details of Steemit and I think this is one of its downsides.

As I mentioned before, at the moment, it looks like the early days of Twitter to me, but as you dig deeper you come across valuable people and posts.

Another problem I'm having is the low signal to noise ratio in the homepage, and trending and hot tabs of Steemit.

Very well-said. Indeed, this is one of the main problems in steem. You can not find good content easily. Because of that, I rarely visit the trending page. Instead, I check my feed because I choose who I follow carefully. This way, I know I will find good content that is worth my time.

Feed check is done first.
Then I do browse the categories I’m interested in.

For me, it's more like check the replies first, then the feed, then the hot tab of the tags that I'm interested in. At the moment, the tag I'm interested in is steemit.

It is clear to me that Steemit has a distribution problem. The right content is not delivered to those interested. You need to do it manually. Compare it with Mediem and you would see the difference clearly.

I think this is a really big problem. Money should not be the only incentive in such a platform. The main incentive should be high-quality content. Unfortunately, currently, high-quality content is buried under tons of nonsense.

I agree with you 100%.

Medium is a great example of how to distribute content relevant to each user. YouTube and Facebook are great at that too.

When money becomes the only motivator, you end up with what you have here.

Another problem is the 7 days rule. I don't mind getting great content that is older than 7 days. With the 7 days rule, we end up with only the content that is generated in the last seven days getting featured.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69837.94
ETH 3620.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20