A look back in time to where we are now.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It's been an interesting ride since April 2016 that's for sure.

Take a look at where we have come from, in all this time, just to retain a little perspective.

We had the very early adopters, from before July 2016... some nice growth after payouts commenced... a slight decline and then an explosion coinciding with the Asian Crypto expansion.

The graph has always displayed an interesting saw tooth pattern which becomes more pronounced as we on-board more users.

There is a slight drop off at the moment but this is the usual consolidation that occurs after a massive surge in price and accompanying growth spurt. As the STEEM price consolidates and declines a little so does the user base.

Its because most users like to visit the site on Wednesdays every week... I wonder what's up with that?

The last couple of Weeks the US and South Korea have been swapping places.

It's interesting to see India in 4th place and Indonesia in 6th.

It's interesting to also note the respective positions of:

  • Nigeria, Venezuela in 10 and 11th
  • Philippines, Japan in 14 and 15th
  • Mexico, South Africa and Ukraine in 18,19 and 20th
  • China and Brazil are also making a push forward.

Those are just the movers I notice, How is your country doing?(edit: the numbers in these columns are sessions not users)


Now for the biggest surprise of them all... Check out the top three cities.

Seoul - South Korea

Medan - Indonesia

Lagos - Nigeria

Medan and Lagos have just squeezed past the incumbents, London and New York (edit: the numbers in these columns are sessions not users)


How's your city doing? is it on the list?

Sort:  

Interesting post. I m from singapore and I m not surprised to see such low numbers of users from singapore. After all we are a very small country. But I would definitely like to see this numbers grow exponentially because singaporeans are tech geeks.

You will see the numbers grow no matter where you are from. Steemit will grow because all the ideas behind it are really well thought.

totally agree with you about that. Especially I'm a Vietnamese myself and I don't see any of Vietnamese around here?

Awesomeness. I still need to attract people from my country to steemit. For now i am still confuse on how to do it

I am extemely happy to see the evolution though. It only confirms my confidence in Steemit and Steem.

Romania is on the list. I am glad about that and I see it with my own eyes. Steemit is becoming more and more popular in my Country. Two weeks ago we were a facebook group of 30 people and today we are over 90 and there are other groups as well.

Hi @gavvet. I would like to comment here because i like your analysis. Im from Kuala Lumpur Malaysia, glad to know Malaysia placed in 22nd no wonder i only seen only a few users from Malaysia. And now i know why i didnt receive a good impression when writing in Bahasa.
Where do you get these sources. I mean which websites?
Waiting for your upcoming content. Thanks

Very nice post, i like it thankyou for sharing @gavvet, help upvote my post.

I think that steemit will be the first social network in the world because it has the potential to be, it is a new concept different in the world in the social networks, it is time to invest a deep money And time
I promote steemit in facebook , youtube , twitter and most social network , we have to support this amazing project ...
thank you for creating great content @gavvet

I totaly agree with you. Most amazing is that I haven't seen anyone loosing confidence in Steemit. The confidence grows up daily and that is important.

very nice post i liked

Steemit seems to be growing by leaps and bounds! Although there are many things that still annoy me about the platform i.e. I feel flagging can amount to censorship and can be abused by projects like trail, automatic bots can really be annoying as they are allowed to post rubbish and upvote at their own discretion. In addition it feels a popularity contest at times that minnows will never win but these things will all be addressed in time. The first one out of the gate always gets a bit bloody and that is Steemit! Thanks for the interesting post!

good attitude

I tell everyone who I talk business to. I am a BIG stats guy. What determines nearly every business decision is statistics!

That's fantastic to be able to see when people come on and where they are from. I'd like to see the sex and age groups too. That could help me better tailor my posts to the readers.

Would be nice to see some interests too. We should be able to set that in our settings then be able to see which interests are highest, as part of stats.

Thanks again!

I put demographics up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55