Three Years on Steemit

in #steemit5 years ago

image.png

At some moment last night I got to my third birthday on Steemit. It has been an OK journey, I learned about Steemit from an ebook I bought and I saw it was a place where you could make money from writing articles so I joined. Now this was a fairly conceited thing to do because I am no writer and had no intention of becoming one, so what I did was join, make a crap post and forget about it.

But a couple of weeks later, I sometimes do this, I thought I was really going to give it a try and see if I could really write something that could get me some votes, it was like an itch. So I started doing some more research and I found that the best way to get some good votes was to write an #introduceyourself post. Well it didn't get much action just a few votes and also it was the first post to get a flag, from someone called @asshole, I didn't even realize what flagging meant as I really had not been active in something like this before but I lost a couple of cents to it and I didn't like it at all which is why I don't think downvotes are going to help this place it will be crazy anyone can downvote you on a whim and with free downvotes it will only get worse.

But anyway I did start to post some more and I was able to get a few cents per post which was not what I had been told would happen I was supposed to be getting an income, but by this time I was into getting one post that would get at least five dollar, something which happened a very long time later but I then started to like writing even though I am sure my posts were and still are not worth much still I get a few cents and I have withdrawn about 1 grand since I started, money that I really needed at that moment.

So I think overall Steemit has been a great experience for me, it has made me lose my fear of what people think about what I write, I have made some money, not what I would wish, but still it is the only place where I have been able to make money and then get that money in my hands, I have had and seen some lively debates so yes, I think my Steemit experience so far has been good.

What the future holds is just that, we don't know, the coming changes I think will be a great challenge I think masses of people will leave and it will be hard to get the numbers up, I will stay but depending on how it goes I might also stop posting as regularly as up to now, yes, that is not much of a problem even I know my posts aren't too good but I think I do add something to Steemit.

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Happy 3rd birthday on Steem!
Manually curated by @akiroq.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 277 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95