"Even The Janitor Is A Millionaire"

in #steemit6 years ago

hgc.jpg

How One Company's Share Plan Shows Steemit's (Potential) Future

I don't read much news as I believe the stuff is nearly worthless to my life. What I do read, however, is financial stuff as I am always looking for interesting investments. While I was scrolling through the feed today I came across this article about how one company rewarded all members - from the CEO to the person who mopped the floors.

Sunny Optical was founded in 1984 and issued stock in the early 1990's. Instead of hoarding the shares for only the upper management, the CEO - Wang Wenjian - allowed all employees to subscribe for shares at a small cost.

The Chinese company is a manufacturer of lenses used in cameras. With the rise of smartphones and drones, the stock price has risen by more than 9,500% since 2008. This astronomical rise has made millionaires and multi-millionaires of even some of the workers employed in the cafeteria.

Wang said; "When money gathers, people will be apart; when money is scattered, people will gather... In our firm, a helper handing food to you in the canteen may as well be a billionaire (in yuan terms). We did one thing well -- building a team and keeping them growing."


Why This Story Makes Me Think Of Steemit

I tend to stay out of the bitching and griping that occasionally pops up here in Steemit. I know it isn't perfect here, but name me one place that is?

Instead of wasting my time and energy on bitching, I focus on what I can offer in my content as well as help to those around me. Because I believe that if the vast majority focus on making Steemit a better place it will outshine any negatives.

Even though Sunny Optical allowed all employees access to shares at a low cost, the higher-ups were still able to afford more shares than the janitors. But everyone got something if they chose to invest.

Everyone here is part of the Steemit team, and we all get a piece as well. Some get more, but all get some.

Another thing to remember is that building value takes time. Today, it seems, people are more impatient and if it doesn't increase in value right away some people are quick to call it a failure.

Sunny Optical started to issue shares in 1994 and it wasn't until 2008 that the stock started to take off in price. That's 14 years. Add in another 10 years for the 9,500% gain and it took 24 years for the gains to really become large.

Steemit recently celebrated its 2nd birthday. Lot's of things have happened in that timeframe, yet people seem to forget.

The best thing going for it is the ability of 3rd parties to create apps on the steem blockchain. Give it time, some luck, and this place will be booming in 5 years.

So you see, your (& my) small piece of the pie will grow in price as the pie becomes more valuable.

Everyone on Steemit is part of the team, now we just grow over time.

Sort:  

Well I do hope that you are correct. I doubt it that we would see a 9500% gain but wouldn't mind it at all!
People for sure are more impatient, that's partly the reason we are having a big burn rate.
It is funny to see that I do write we, but it is WE. We are the steem ecosystem! We are the holders of the shares!
To be honest, I would be amazed if steem ever reach 100$. By than I hopefully will have around 1000 steem! That would be a great retirement fund!

Ps: how is the gold?

Cheers,
Peter

Well, 9500% would mean low to mid $200's - not completely unfeasible in 10-15 years provided things work out.

Gold is still hanging out in a baggie. I do need to get experimenting with the melting.

I bet a lot of employees sold off their shares before they shot up.

Maybe, but they were given the opportunity just like everyone here on Steemit.

Yes good point

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It is interesting that the issuing of company shares (or at least making them available) to all workers seems to be fairly common in China. I think I read about Xiaomi (cellphone maker) did something similar recently and made most of the staff very wealthy.

As long as the business prospers, so will those that own shares. Just like holding Steem.

This article caught my eye on Bloomberg as well. Well i do hope Steem/SBD goes up another 9500% from current prices.

By my math, it would put the price in the low $200's

If Steem were to just catch up to EOS current market cap, that would be a 20x price increase based on market caps of $600M and $12B. One can hope lol :)

Yep. I agree @getonthetrain. The long term is where it's at. That's why I'm working so hard now to earn as much Steem as possible.

Taking earnings out now doesn't make any sense to me. They would nowhere near match the effort I've put in. Not even close.

But as Steem gets harder to earn here and the value goes up then, at some point, I will have made a good return on the effort.

And I'm only talking money here. I consider I've already got a great return in terms of people I've met, relationships formed, conversations had, things learned etc.

That's the plan! I just keep stacking Steem. I paid for my Steemfest ticket in SBD and now regret it - I should have used fiat!

Yeah. So far when I've had a choice @getonthetrain, I've used fiat! 😁

Absolutely, well said!

Steemit does have problems. There is a huge disconnect, a poverty gap, between the wealthy and the poor here. The richer you are, the easier it is to earn, that's something I will openly fight.

But Steemit has huge potential, and you are quite right to focus on the positive aspects. With a little patience and time, investments in Steemit may prove to be extremely rewarding!

I guess we shall find out how it all went down - in about 10-15 years. 😀

yeah...true. we are always impatients and some guys are tempt ed to give up. its still hard for some but atleast i promised to myself that i would not sleep without putting some content on the steem blockchain. Well, it was a little hard at first but now i'm a bit used and a daily routine for me.

Consistent action is something that will lead to success.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Thanks for share motivational Article. happy investing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62267.50
ETH 2992.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71