eSteem Android app problems, and possible fixes

in #steemit6 years ago

Strictly my option!

It's only my experience, nothing personal...

So I've been using the eSteem app for about a week now and I've noticed that there a quite a few problems. While I am unsure of the nature of the Steem app I am going to give my options on the app and possible was to fix them.

  • Bugs are everywhere

The app is absolutely riddled with bugs. While I've yet to experience a crash with the app, a lot of things just don't seem to fix together and other things just don't work.

  • Refreshing isn't obvious

This could just be me being stupid, but it doesn't seem like there is any easy way to refresh the feed or anything else for that matter. I usually resort to just reloading the app, or going to my computer and load the desktop version if my laptop is handy.

  • UI feels a bit dodgy

The UI, while it is just about usable, has obvious holes in it and does not feel like it should. Also, a lot of the time it just feels unresponsive. While I understand this is still in its infant stages I believe that UX is important and is what people come back to a service for

  • Errors aren't obvious

I have received quite a few errors while using the app, a lot of them seem sporadic. I have no idea what I did to cause the error to happen and how I can prevent it from happening.

There other minor problems that come to mind but that would make this far too long if I listed them all here (a lot of them probably come from me not understanding Steemit) but my possible answer to this would be to re-do the app in Android Studio. You should use the available tools in there and use it's diagnostics tools. If you are already using that, then male sure you are using the software to its full potential. Use the click and drag UI design when editing the XML files. Use the logcat. I'm sure your a smart person developer(s). But currently the eSteem app for Android feels undercooked and awkward to use. If there was a major improvement with this app it would really be a privilege to use as I love the content that the people make on this.

Anyway, that's all for now. If you're a developer for this app please do something about this! Thanks! Keep up the great work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67352.29
ETH 3501.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22