No Money From Steemit. No Hope.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The photo above captures my worst day of 2016.

I had been running my PC hard, around the clock, without the air conditioning turned on. I was trying to save on monthly utility bills, as I worked from home, creating media.

But then, of course, something broke -- probably the motherboard, which was already 6-years old at the time.

The problem was, I had no money to fix it and it was my primary tool to earn income.

At the time, I was many months deep into a project that had yet to make any money. Worse, it had eaten up almost all of my resources.

I suppose that's why I snapped the photo. I was in total disbelief at the timing of the event.

After an hour with its guts laid out on my coffee table, repeatedly shorting the power connector with a butter knife, I finally gave up on my PC.

I ordered -- with tons of guilt -- new parts with money that was supposed to be spent on health insurance and tax payments!

Fortunately, as the summer ended, my gamble started to pay off. My income stream became respectable, and heading into Christmas was looking great.

But instead of buying a lot of shiny new things, I would eventually risk most of it on crypto.

You can say that I got lucky -- I just happened to have some extra cash when the markets were booming.

But I've been in crypto since 2011.

That dead Sandy Bridge motherboard, years ago, once held a couple of 6870's that mined 24/7. I've seen a lot of ups and downs.

Sometimes, I notice Steemians saying they're struggling.

I know what's that like. I spent years in the brutal Web/SEO market, and almost a decade as a paid YouTube creator, until they virtually cut off earnings this spring.

So I want to tell them the only advice that continually proves itself true:

You'll get what you deserve when you make the requisite sacrifices.

To get you started on your path to prosperity, leave a thoughtful remark below, and I will blast you a genuine gigafart.

xD

(Need a reason to follow me? I generally upvote every comment, on every post I create.)

Sort:  

"Sometimes, I notice Steemians saying they're struggling."

Every passing moment, we all are struggling. It is not a matter of fame, fortune, glory, or poverty, depravity, emptiness.

You can be the most successful businessman in the earth yet you are struggling for control. The constant fear of failure, even a slight miscalculation that may send your business downhill.

Maybe you are the richest man in you country, yet you struggle for deep sense of security. You can eat the most expensive "wagyu A5" with all the fancy trimmings each day yet you barely have a good nights rest.

Or you treat yourself as the poorest of the poor, striving to live with whatever resources you have, toiling the day to survive. "Oh how cruel is this life!" you say.

Each and everyone of us has their own struggle. Maybe we are on the different side of the spectrum, yet we survive. But the path is never easy. You splendidly put it into words:
"You'll get what you deserve when you make the requisite sacrifices."

Yes, "sacrifices". You reap what you sow they say. Come to think of a farmer. The work is hard, it is to say the least back-breaking, but he endures, he doesnt complain, he is sacrificing, he is struggling. He knows that there will come a time where he will reap the fruits of his labor. Let us have this kind of mindset.

Thank you so much @gigafart. Such a motivating post you have. Continue to inspire us, keep the posts flowing. ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ

Keep on Steemin'!
(๑>◡<๑)
DQmRAKe6Vv3A3YTudxEiwaLetMASGAxi3DtASYnTU2LG8XW.gif
(You deserve to be followed and also a small .02 upvote token of appreciation. :D)

Thanks @gigafart for an inspiring post! I've been reading through the comments and your replies and it's really encouraging to have this type of positive engagement in the community.

You are so right! Guess this is life! I especially liked your "farmer" example. Thanks so much for that! I needed it.

It's my pleasure to give an encouraging word to others. Yes this is life! It is never easy, a bit brutal, yet we will survive! We will labor, and we will reap it someday. ;)

Thanks for your awesome comment.
Have some money! xD

Oh thank you so much. :)
I heard thru the grapevine that i should pump my first few payouts to power up my steem power. What do you think? Is that a good idea? @u@

Im back reading your latest posts about writing. I definitely need some more tips. :)

You're welcome!
I’m not sure what you mean. But you should horde as much Steem Power as possible.
It could be very valuable one day.

I get it now. More steem power it is! Ill convert my upcoming payouts too steem power asap. They said it makes your votes worth more. That would be great! :)

And by the way, may i post my lengthy comment on your post on my blog? Ofcourse i will give credit to your post great post. I think that it would be a great encouragement to those who are just starting in Steemit.

(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

Yea of course! You never need to ask me for stuff like that xD

Go make your channel great!

Sorry for the noob questions. hehehe.. :D
Okay i will post it later. have to sleep first, (12:20am now in manila xD)

Thanks for the support @gigafart. Continue to be blessing others. (especially to minnows like me. ^_^)
Shower me with Steem whenever you want, i will put it to good use. Hehe ..(◕‿◕✿)

May the force of steem be with everyone who supports other minnows like you @gigafart and all minnows on the platform struggles except those who have deep pockets and can invest in Steem Power.

I hope you don't mind a quibble. Most of the farmers I know enjoy complaining at least a little.

Haha!! The new generation of farmers do complain a bit. The old farmers folks i know just work, eat, sleep, repeat.. xD

Just curious, but what exactly is a gigafart? Is that a billion small farts or a billion's worth in one large fart?

I hear you loud and clear the life of a miner is hard the road is filled with obstacles, forks and dead ends. I've been mining since 2011

The pics of the 100ghs 1000 Kwh Avalons I purchased for about $2000 each been sitting in my basement. They became obsolete before I was able to ROI.

They cost more in shipping than they are worth. I'm donating them to the local high school computer science club.

Today STEEMIT is the best way to mine.

miners pic.JPG

Respect for taking the risk! Thanks for sharing.
This is what people usually don't see, but they should.

Yeah for me its not just about the profits. Though profits are nice. It's more about growing the network and helping crypto become one of the tools needed to replace our present obsolete monopoly ponzi economic system.

wow, that's crazy

Yeah bro. Mining is a tough biz.
My weekend was spent cleaning out the basement and these are sitting in my living room until drop them at the high school.

Wow! Just wow!

This is a real motivation to me and i think many of us. With determination and persistance, look at where you are today. I am planning to be the next gigafart. I believe i will be getting what i deserve. This is gigafart junior speaking. lol

We all start off as microFarts. I believe in your journey tj!

Absolutely agree with you: If you want rewards, you need to do the work.
No shortcuts in life but there are efficiencies:

  • Don't waste anyone's time with nonsense posts
  • Write intelligent comments on posts you agree with
  • Follow those who are supporting you and reward THEM with an upvote when their work has earned it.
  • Keep writing! When it becomes a habit, watch the benefits build up

Keep learning, keep applying what you've learned, and be relentless.

@scan0017 😘

Those are great points, and will definitely accelerate success. I def. agree about rewarding when it's earned.

Everyone has their fair share of difficulty times. Some how crytocurrency have changed and will change lifes of millions. You are very lucky to get into this spac so early but to most of the new steemians, we are not too late. So many people are still not aware of the existence of blockchain, bitcoin let alone Steemit. Potential for growth within this space is HUGE so just hang on and you will be rewarded handsomely.

Definitely early days here on Steemit! There's opportunity for everyone. I'm amazed at how many ways there are to play this game. We all have different talents.

@reggaemuffin just launched his lending bot. Can you imagine the economy that's going to spur? It's the start of Steemit's advertising network, and god knows what else!

And the king sent out the wise men to bring back all the knowledge of the world. Many moons went by until they returned. When they arrived to the palace with long lines of scribes carrying books, the king said: no! Fuck no! I'm not going to read all that shit...make it shorter.

So the wisemen convened. And toiled long months before they came to the king with a single phrase. It was: this too shall pass.
The king said: you fucking morons! Everybody knows that ending, give me something i can work with, something real, something that actually does some work!

The wise men were stumped. Their sophist-ication had been complete. They had lost the magic of the verdant herb. The creative power of a blooming flower and a bumbling bee. They had been asked for wisdom and returned with a prescription for endurance... the sky grew dim.

In the morning, the wise men left their academy for the palace. On the way they stopped for espresso -- which is always a good idea. While there a young girl of the kingdom showed up with the morning sun blazing in her hair and cakes of honey. She presented her offering to the master and said: thank you! Your teachings have guided me towards the light and now i have found plenty. Thank you! Thank you Master!

The Master smiled and said: thank you child. If only attaining happiness and plenty was as easy as you make it look.
The girl said: it is Master! You told me to study hard and to apply myself, which i did, and now i am reaping the rewards.

Go on, said the Master...

It's simple, said the girl: You get what you give

The Master smiled. The other wisemen smiled too. And looked at each other like -- did you see that fucking touchdown!!??!

Off to the palace they went. Spoke to the king. He was ecstatic and particularly generous that day 'cause ol' King was no fool... Yadda yadda yadda...They all got fat sacks of gold and loaded paper wallets, new burner android cell phones, killer sunglasses and pre-paid visas and the week off.

                            THE END

Cheers, from thedamus

xD

Please comment often!

As your name implies, when inspiration strikes it can be mighty.
I will look for your posts O flatulent one kenobi :P

thedamus

You should get a profile image. I just realized you're also the robocoin dude!

...getting there

Ha! I just realized your the iPad at the beach dude!

How big a fart can I get?😂

Looks like I gotta blast a lot of people here...
Keep coming back for more tho, k?

Inspiring story man. Glad your gamble paid off!

Hope your EOS pays off too xD

I gotta wait until it's offered on an exchange I use.

Hey gigafart,

Great post, and cool history. I too have been in since early, but i'm not a miner. I got involved with buying a robocoin machine right after the first one went live in Vancouver in 2013 (had already been in for nesrly a year at that point).

Anyway, there has been (as i'm sure you recall) a ton of crap to deal with re: robocoin. It's a long story, but i'll be quick... we shipped our 9mo delayed robo to Japan to be set up in a "sure spot" with a reliable operator. It didn't work. Weeks of tech bs occurred and then...it worked -- for 9 days. Then robocoin shat their entire bed...

Time went by. Slowly. My partner and i argued. Things were shit and we still owed large dollars (to finance machine) and it wasn't working. We changed its brain to GeneralBytes. Dude in japan couldn't get it to work.

Years went by. We persevered and stayed involved in the crypto scene, then

3 months ago we got it shipped home. We found a spot, got hooked in with bitcoiniacs, and BOOM! Got it lit up.

It's now been running for nearly a month and earning money. We are vindicated! And as you say, rewarded for our perseverance.

We're not making huge money or anything, but, we're doing it. Making our dream of bringing more bitcoin to more people a reality.

Our machine is at 3rd st and Lonsdale in North Vancouver!

Just wanted to tell my story in support of your thesis. Keep on keeping on!

Cheers! from thedamus

Yes, I've heard tons of bad shit about robocoin over the years xD

I'm so glad it worked out for you, despite the stress of it all. I'm sure you're a crypto ATM wizard now, and getting your next machine(s) up and running will be 1/100th of the effort. Vancouver sounds like a great market to tap. Maybe you'll try Japan again, someday.

Thanks gigafart! Back atcha...best i can do right now (re: uv)

I have done two stories on bitcoin ATM's -- the original location at 900 Howe, and then recently, the honeybadger machine at Granville&Smithe.

Next one will be on my own spot :)

Cheers! You're def one of the good guys

thedamus

I feel you man. You worked hard and now you're here. Am so proud :d
Plz don't gigafart me, i'm fine :D

Cats are susceptible to reverse psychology xD

Oh no. Then please gigafart me hard lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63