The Evil Room in My House

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The photo above shows a productivity death zone in my home.

Whenever I'm in this part of the house, the last thing I feel like doing is working. So usually I'll distract myself -- like, suddenly I'll get hungry, and then I'm snacking and watching YouTube for the rest of the afternoon!

It's so stupid, because I've known about the trappings of a low energy work environment for years.

Surviving at School

Back when I had just finished school, I was running a hundred Wordpress blogs, targeting all sorts of lucrative niches. It was pure grind work, and after several failed outsourcing attempts, I was left managing all those websites myself. The problem, as you can guess, was finding the motivation to meet this enormous challenge.

So I crept back on campus to recreated the exact environment that got me through school:

I plugged away at my laptop in the libraries, cafeterias, and empty lecture halls that I knew were conducive to highly productive work sessions.

I did more work as a fake student, on a borrowed wifi login, than when I was a real one the year before!

But somehow, years later, I forgot about this experience. Perhaps, because it's overshadowed by the painful memory of Google dropping the banhammer on my entire blog network soon after it launched...

The Evil Room

For several years, I've had my work desk in a corner of the room that I intuitively hate. It's dim, damp, and too close to my neighbor's residence -- I can often hear them gossiping.

So recently, I dragged my heavy desk, and all the computer equipment, to a somewhat awkward spot near the kitchen. It's a much higher energy location that I walk thru all the time. It just feels brighter and more alive.

This simple change has been amazingly good for my business. The struggle to initiate work has been significantly reduced, and I can work for longer periods without getting distracted or fatigued. (And it's also a lot closer to the coffee machine!)

Extending this workplace strategy, I've always wanted to work outside. I mentioned this in a previous blog.

Make The Move

Even a single productive hour, added to my weekly schedule, can have a significant impact on my overall goals. I've started to realize that physically moving to where ever I feel the most energy is a tiny cost for the benefit it provides.

My ultimate goal is to have all the power of my main workstation unchained from the desk. It's probably not a realistic goal for much of the work I do, but some things -- like using Steemit, or trading crypto -- can be done from almost anywhere.

I wonder if other people feel the same way.

Do you work better at home or at Starbucks?

Do you prefer a busy or quiet environment?

(Leave a decent comment, and I'll give ya the gigafart guaranteed upvote!)

Sort:  

Sometimes we choose places based on our mood. Heck, even our age. When we are young we tend to be more closed due to "the phase" — especially when we are teenagers. As we grow older we are dependent more on others since our social circles get narrower. A kitchen does that since it replicates the water-cooler spot at work.

Another factor is creativity. When we are too focused on something our minds get stuck. The same concept applies when we are trying to remember something. Using peripheral thinking (not thinking about the thing we are trying to remember) actually makes us remember the thing. A kitchen does exactly that. The flow of people plus our own venturing in the fridge (aka walking around) can get the creative juices flowing. Moving around also boosts circulation so our mind is bound to work better.

In other words, you body knows more than you do and it will make you do awkward things in order to get what it wants. aka Moving heavy, awkward furniture in in the kitchen.

I write an article everyday and usually I also design something as well. I find my creative juices flowing in the morning, right after I wake up sitting on my tiny crooked porch. If that doesn't work, a long walk in the park usually does the trick.

IMG_20170708_071336.jpg

Thank you for those insights! I left this out of my blog, but I created a standing desk (regular desk on stilts). I find it so much better for thinking. When I'm stuck on something, I'll spontaneously walk in mini-circles. It's amazing for unlocking creative solutions!

Also, a huge reason why I go to the beach is for the bike ride. If I simply drove there, I'm not sure it would remain such a great place for inspiration. This sounds like your long walk in the park.

There you go.

Perhaps the most peculiar thing about this is how our bodies push us to do things. Natural hacking.

reminds me of this

a great post and I really like your posts.
@gigafart
Thankyou for sharing

Hi comrade @gigafart , lately I see you are doing power down I'm curious, what is the reason you do it have you already don't want to dabble in steemit..???

Sorry to see you go. Thanks for having supported my witness for so long. You're awesome, feel free to hit me up in Discord or Steemit chat whenever.

ok ok I was just unvoting en mass the other day. I didn't think it would effect you... I might also be supporting in other ways you dont know about. xD

i prefer my learning desk where i get to do more research with my laptop rather than on the go. Multitasking on a smart devices can be quite difficult so i often do all my writings on my laptop. With trading, its everywhere i go and its kind of very much interesting as i monitor trades all the time.

I'm sad that it's too late to upvote this because this is GOLD!
I have such a similar story. I have an office in my studio and I hate that office, so I work from home. But I hate my home office - the energy sucks here.
You've just lit a fire under me. I'm tearing this office to bits RIGHT NOW and rebuilding it into something that ENCOURAGES creativity and focus rather than stifling it.
Thank you :)

Nice! Blog about it if you get the chance.

You have no idea how much I relate to this, it's incredible how different energies of your environment affect you, I really wish I still had the picture of what I made into my office a couple of years back! It would be so much better to get the visual but I'll just have to write it...-- a tent in the back yard. I kid you not. I was, at the time, sharing an office space with my husband and my pre-teen son would take over my husband's monstrous PC every chance he could, and it was incredibly difficult to concentrate. And then as the nicer weather became more prominent it dawned on me. I could put up the tent, face it to the woods so I could just use the mesh screen for the entire front, and also leave the top canvas off when there was no threat of rain, giving me both fresh air and privacy. It was amazing the difference that made!
I live in NY so unfortunately this arrangement couldn't last forever (though I really pushed it, more and more layers as the fall progressed lol!)
Happily my husband understood that I needed the privacy, and now the office is mine..but actually as I'm typing this to you I'm starting to consider that tent, at least for the rest of the summer... (if I wasn't afraid of a hostile takeover of the office in the meantime ;)

I dig the post. Good tip on energy-based seating choices.

I also struggled hustling Google for blog ad revenue and I can tell you -- which you know -- is hard.

Suffice to say, my belief is in crypto and the decentralized future. I prefer to work in new places, while adventuring. Definitely love jacking a public wifi and working at a bar or coffee shop, outside is cool too🐳🔛

Yea, the easy-money days of blogging (on the open Web) are long over for most people. Better things have come though!

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

Here is my work space.
I love the natural light that comes into this room.

My main distractions are my 4 roommates that love to come chat with me when I am in the middle of work lol

I like that spot. You can see outside and get some fresh air when you want. Also, your desk space looks decent.

Seems like you have a 2nd laptop on the right. You should set them both up, side-by-side, to look like a boss! Also, looks like you were browsing some of my comments on your screen (bonus points).

I find it very difficult to work at home no matter what room I am in. Especially during the summer time with three kids home and my wife. My solution had been to use our travel trailer as office space - table, bathroom and fridge. I love out in the country so driving to town was never even a consideration.

Sounds like a great man cave! Wish I was in the countryside.

We left Houston last year, best decision ever.

Actually shifting your workplace can help a lot. Because I have already experienced it. Back then I found it really boring to write or working on my projects when I used to sit on a table in a corner. But then one day a clock start ticking in my mind and I changed my desk location in my indoor garden. That's the moment I highly aprreciate because from the moment on I have never been bored at my projects.
The way you described this whole idea really deserves a round of applause. It's a simple thought and you gave it a reality by transforming it into a blog post. Very wise @gigafart

@gigafart, it was interesting and insightful to read this... a couple of thoughts:

I don't know you, but part of my trouble with working (from home, as I do) relates to the fact that I am ADHD as hell (at least that's how society wants to label me) so concentration is tough. And there's nothing that'll make me check out and start looking for distractions faster than something that looks too much like a "dedicated work space."

Now, I'm an "oldfart" so I've had a while to work on this... but regardless of when or where I am trying to work, getting things done is usually a result of me "having to lie to myself" about where I am, and what I am doing. Sounds to me like that's a bit of what you're getting to work for you, as well.

Most workspaces are inherently dull... and "inherently dull" is a creativity killer. When you drag your setup into "an awkward spot near the kitchen," sure you're in a higher energy spot... but you're also (subtly) lying to yourself about working; somewhere in your subconscious you're getting away with something.

I have a home office... Yeah, it's a work space, but there's a cat bed on my desk; my wife's eBay business has its "shipping department" in the middle of everything and there are a jillion distractions... and I do all my best writing out on the adjacent back porch. I joke around that ADHD means having a bad case of "oh shiny," but I really just turn that to my advantage.

Long story short... you sound like you just need to work where the inspiration finds you; so CREATE that reality!

There's definitely a mix of personalities/identities in my head that are fighting to steer my behavior. Especially when work is involved!

Part of "tricking" myself, I've found, is having a ritual that can be used to overcome these opposing forces. It can be making coffee, cleaning the room, or traveling to a different work location.

Maybe those rituals are simply distractions for the parts of my unconscious that would prefer not to work?

Thanks for your insights!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67