You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Life: Are Your Dead Followers REALLY "Dead?"

in #steemit6 years ago

that's an interesting site @denmarkguy. I've not come across that one before.

I went though my followers and unfollowed those who are dead although I suspect some of them might come back when the price of Steem goes up. Most of them had very good reputations and were good engagers up until 3 months ago.

The most depressing statistic was that of 1257 followers 1086 are ghost followers. 😱

I wish there was some way to take them out of the equation.

Over the last few months I have definitely lost a large number of people who used to engage but are no longer active.

I'm not a fan of UA as I think it favours those who got in early (as I've mentioned before I think). It seems like another "club" for those people who are already well supported.

Perhaps it will be too late anyway.

Sort:  

I'm not ready to be quite that glum, yet... I have a huge number of "ghosts" as well, leaving me with about 10% of my total followers as "active and current." Which — ironically — is pretty much the overall Steemit retention rate, as far as active accounts go.

You're possibly right about UA, although I've had a number of interactions with the creators and now they are at least starting to calculate and give more weight to "site activity" as part of the UA score... before, it really wasn't given significant weight.

It did sound a bit glum didn't it @denmarkguy? I hope what you say about UA "starting to calculate and give more weight to "site activity"" makes a difference. It's all a bit of a nonsense, I feel, if they don't. But there I go ahead. more glumness. Just call me Eeyore! 😂

Some people HAVE to be Eeyore! I'm often rather pessimistic, myself... and that helps the dreamers among us take a step back to consider whether they are about to fall through very thin ice into very cold water!

Well that's a very uneyeore like way to look at it @denmarkguy. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89