You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Favorite Writing Topic? Speculative Fiction

in #steemit6 years ago

Do you enter any of the fiction writing contests @glenalbrethsen? There seem to be quite a few around. Or are you just enjoying writing your book?

Congratulations on your second place in The League by the way. As far as I'm concerned you're still number one for engagement, as opposed to commenting, if you get my drift, nudge, nudge, wink, wink, say no more.

No idea if these last seven words have any meaning to you or it's a Brit thing but I no you like learning our new idioms etc. 😁

Sort:  

Actually, they do have meaning. I've heard or read them before. I'm relieved really, to not be the only one to wonder about the commenting part versus the engagement part. After I did the math and realized that average character length per comment was just under 100, well, there was a moment where it didn't sit very well. Most everyone else is close to double or triple that each week, if not more. So, anyway, I'm over my brief whatever we'll call it, and I will say no more, except for thank you. :)

I entered a contest either in January or February (back before joining the leagues). It was one where the story gets created as you go—the contest runner creating the first several paragraphs, then the first contestant in (it was @beeyou by the way) added some, and then someone else added the next part. Anyway, there were three of us and I was the last of the three to write some. Mine won. Prize: 100 whaleshares, which I can't explain to you what they are other than they had to do with some temporary SP/delegation.

I haven't entered it since, one because I didn't really want the whaleshares, and two, there wasn't a whole lot of participation.

Now, it would be tough to do because I'm in the leagues and feel like I've got enough going on. At some point, I'd like to get into them more. The leagues have been helping me, so I want to continue for another period of time with them.

I haven't written on what I'm calling the The Maya for about four years. I haven't written anything else really outside of posts and comments since getting on Steemit.

I think it must have taken me a bit longer to get over my "whatever we'll call it" since I was only able to leave a very general congratulations to everyone. You were way more magnanimous. 😁

I wasn't bothered from my own perspective but I came over all protective of you and Lynn 😂

Shame you couldn't win Steem or SBD in that contest although if you've not got time to enter it doesn't really make a difference I suppose.

There was a competition I used to enter, in my eatty days, but the changed the reward to some obscure token, can't remember what, so I stopped entering that one.

Okay, that just officially made my day, and probably my week. 😬 I like the protective you, and I'm sure Lynn would appreciate it, too.

I did notice that you weren't your normal cheery on the comment, but I didn't know why. You've got enough going so I just figured you were off posting or commenting somewhere else.

I had to think for a little bit what to say. I mean, it's not a very enviable position to be in. All happy when I win and then curt or snitty or whatever we'll call it when I don't? No way I'm getting after Asher—they're his leagues and I'm still very happy to be a part—and cheneats doesn't deserve the heat, either, for being designated the winner.

So, it was what it was. And I really did remember how Lynn went about it, grace in both winning and not, so I figured I'd follow that. :)

Well you did a great job. As did Lynn. 😍

It was easy for me because, if I remember rightly, you were the one who knocked me off the top spot. Makes it easy when you think the win is well-deserved! 😊

I settled down when I thought, if I've noticed the commenting aspect then Asher will have too. And, as you say, it's his leagues anyway. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59328.31
ETH 2997.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79