You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's More Important For Steemit Right Now: SMTs or Hivemind

in #steemit6 years ago

Interesting analysis @glenalbrethsen.

My thoughts are that neither is more important for Steemit right now. Before either of those are adopted, sorting out the crap that is already going on would be a much better use of energy in my opinion.

Sort:  

I agree, and I think that's what Communities is supposed to do. However, given human nature and the particular genius of those here, even if Communities wipes out everything currently existing, (mainly the bots, spam and plagiarism), it can't and won't change how the reward pool works, or the disparity between SP across the entire ecosystem, or what people ultimately want to get out of STEEM. The writing prompt didn't mention Communities, though, so I added that in there on my own. In the prompt, Steemit and STEEM appear to be synonymous, which makes it a harder question to answer because in my mind, one is the platform or interface we use and the other is the blockchain where we transact.

I agree. I see Steemit and Steem as being two separate things. As I've mentioned before, Steem has a much better chance of surviving in my opinion. 😊

The way Steemit is acting right now, it's not going to survive the rest of the week! I can't be the only one these timeouts and network errors are happening to. The last time this happened, I ended up giving the Steemit crew the benefit of the doubt, thinking they were tinkering under the hood. Turned out, it was a massive spam attack that took out a lot of the nodes. So, STEEM might survive, but if we have no way to access the blockchain (Busy hasn't been working for me, either), then it's going to take something much more robust and secure to do it.

I've been having issues all afternoon on both Steemit and Busy @glenalbrethsen. The level of communication about what's going on is crap. No-one seems to know what the problem is. 😢

Okay. It's working a bit better now than it was. Maybe they've got whatever happened fixed. It's kind of hard to post, comment and curate when the tools you have aren't working.

I keep saying we need some kind of alert system that just shows up across the top of our feed whenever there's an attack or something that will slow down use. Getting all of these errors is not at all conducive to creating loyalty and trust among users.

an alert system would be great but communication is not one of Steemit's strong points!

I'm still not able to transfer any SBD or log into Busy. 😢

Yeah. Steemit wallet is still acting up (I've been having a hard time accepting rewards all morning) and I was only able to do one thing briefly with busy before I gave up. Been back on Steemit, which at least has been working for upvoting and commenting, something it wasn't allowing me to do earlier, either.

No, communications are not strong suits. It's a simple ask, though. And probably even more easily implemented. Oh, well. We wonder and we wait.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87