You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Objective Look at Vote Buying Bots and Some Other Steemit Stuff

in #steemit6 years ago

It's interesting how the whole bid bot justification seems to have shifted from making money to marketing @schattenjaeger.

But, I would also guess

that the additional support is not very genuine, and definitely not long lasting

But it probably makes people think they are doing something that is getting them somewhere.

Certainly if you look at the figures without doing the maths returns can look quite good.

I've not heard about writing for whale votes before but that explains why people make a big fuss about what a waste of time it is trying to attract a whale vote. That was always pretty obvious to me but the fact that it wasn't always like that makes sense of why people would need to say so.

Sort:  

I don't use the bots myself, but it's just my understanding that the financial returns aren't really there, so I'm not sure if they are a valid reason to use them, really.

So, I'm just assuming that it's the advertising aspect of it all.

Well pretty much all the posts I've read have said the maths not longer works out, i.e. you don't make a profit. But, it can easily look like you do.

I used a simple bot for a couple of weeks that paid me 3 times what I paid it so I thought I was making loads. Then a friend of mine showed me the maths and I was actually losing money every time so I stopped and haven't bothered again.

It can look very attractive financially but it doesn't seem to work out well for most people.

Once that was known there seemed to be a shift to the marketing argument for using them and, as I say, I'm not convinced that works either. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82