5 PHASES you are going through while POSTING on STEEMIT

in #steemit6 years ago

Soundtrack for this post: City and Colour - Hope for Now

Yeah, I'm kinda new on Steemit. I'm struggling with getting upvotes also, like the rest of the beginners, even tho there's quite strong Croatian and Balkan unity on Steemit. especially from my home town.

More than 15 people from my hometown that I actually know in person, plus the ones who I don't know in person. Say hello to "The Whales Of My Hometown" @dumar022, @moon32walker, @alktoni, @fibra59, and say hello also to our female force @katarinazaja, @big.mama, @sanjalydia, @exanime15, and to my fellow fresh fishes @zija2022, @stefandimic, @schkure, @chr0nix, @budzy, @redrumtom...

As soon as I started posting on Steemit my expectations were high, guess it is normal. I thought that quality counts, but as weeks were passing, I realized that except of quality, how lucky you are counts also... a big amount of luck. Some older members say that it was way easier to progress before. Unfortunately, I can't say that it was, but if they say so, I believe them...

The thing is that I can see a couple of stages of emotions while I'm writing and publishing my post. It's the case of my girlfriend and me, but I'm sure to the most of the Steemit community also.

thelearningmind.jpg

(photo: www.thelearningmind.com)

So let's see which phases we are going through, before and after we publish our post here:

Pre-phase 1

  • Wondering if my post will be fun or interesting to everyone like it's fun/interesting to me. Usually this pre-phase comes also with positive thinking and sometimes with euphoria.

Pre-phase 2

  • Choosing headline and photos that will attract people to click on your post - clickbait, and hopefully if you are lucky, read it, upvote it or maybe resteem it. Expectations on maximum, almost ready to engage the post...

changerenmieux.jpg

(photo: www.changerenmieux.fr.com)

Phase 1 - EXCITEMENT / EXPECTATIONS

  • "I hope that BIG whale will notice my post, read it, and reward at least my effort or the post itself if she/he finds it attractive"

Phase 2 - QUESTIONING

  • Post reconsideration and analysis, in the first few hours, when things are not going as you predicted it. Did I do everything right? Did I put correct hashtags? Did I post it at the right time?

Phase 3 - DISAPPOINTMENT / RAGE

  • You realized that you put a lot of effort in your post and you didn't get even single one SBD. There's no comments, no upvotes, no sign of any activity at all, just a couple of views. Then you start to cruise trending & hot posts, other user profiles, and see how much upvotes other people earned, after what rage comes up, because you find a lot of these posts not so quality, but they earned a good amount of upvotes.

Phase 4 - DEMOTIVATION / ACCEPTANCE

  • This is the longest phase in which you don't see any light in your posts. You don't have a will to write anything cause you think that you are just not good, that your subjects or post are not interesting to anyone, and that's all. You just accept thing the way they are.

Phase 5 - THOUGHT OF QUITTING

  • Final stage. Nothing makes sense. "Should I just quit? Maybe I was just too trustful. Nothing comes so easy." Considering to quit. That's it. I'm done here.

hope.jpg

(photo: www.news.microsoft.com)

Post-phase - HOPE

  • "Maybe I can try again? Maybe I can change the subject next time. Probably it will do the thing. Yeah, I will try... just one more time."

... and we are back at the beginning of the Pre-phase 1- EXCITEMENT and BIG expectations.

Here is how it looks like from my perspective, do you agree?

Take care!

GG

Sort:  

This is so true.

it is getting harder and harder to get the attention of the orcas and minnows because new members are coming in everyday, that means more post.

Some people have quitted, I don't blame them though because there is level to our persistency.

I think should not focus all the efforts on getting the attentions of the whales and build following and relationships with fellow minnows - think long term. Planktons becomes minnows then orcas then whales (I don't know if there are other levels in between those). And some people actually progress faster than you can imagine.

Great article.

We all have big expectations, because we were "dragged" here by our friends (most of) saying: "Oooh, you need to sign in, there is a lot of money circling around, you can earn an easy money" - and that is what is the reason of this phases, high expectations. Just, write, post, go with the flow and results will come soon or later :)

Good luck! :)

This sounds really familiar. I go through these stages with my every post and can relate to your rage when I see what posts get upvoted. Yes, luck plays a big role here but giving up shouldn't be an option.
For me, reading comments gets me high. I know that as a small fish, a certain amount of time will pass before my posts will get more upvotes and more money, but until then, every engagement from others is appreciated. People are reading, small fish people, but still people and those small fish people will become big fish one day and still read.
Keep up the good job and don't get discouraged. 💚

Thank you for your comment and support, it means a lot. We need to push harder and everything will be fine... I hope :)

post and can relate to your rage

@gingergeorge For days I was thinking the same thing, it’s so funny how the cycle stars again with every new post... cheers.

It's a magic circle, if you go in, you never go out. :D

This so true. I enjo5the picti4you used on this post. Thanks for sharing

Thanks a lot! :)

Ha! Welcome to steemit, it was never easy and it will never be easy. I'm here for almost two years and still even with 2k followers some days are very shitty. Depends on the day, you will never please everyone, just learn to do your own thing, day by day every day, and drink a lot of booze :)

I just write from our perspective, perspective of two beginners who joined one month ago, but I believe it is always hard to pass through this first phases and if you keep writing it will be better...I don't drink so often, maybe I should start :P

I think today is a good day to try heroin :P

Or sleeping pills and wake up when september ends :D

Cool photos. As a new bee I could relate to all of them. And I hope my experience would be all smiles soonest.
Thanks for sharing

Just wait, you will feel this phases soon :)

Everything will work out in the end. Just keep at it. 😊
Guraj. I onda kad nebudes mogao gurati dalje, guraj jos malo. Pivo pomaze kad je najteze. Hehe

I hope so. Nekad je stvarno razocaravajuce kad se potrudis i smislis dobar post i na kraju nista, kao ovaj post npr :)

Pokusaj pronaci grupu ljudi koja dijeli iste interese. Mozda nije nijedan whale naletio ali opet si dobio dosta upvota na post. Natjecanja su recimo jako dobra za nesto vise. 😊

yeees it's always the same. but, after one month (fingers crossed), i'll have enough money on steemit to treat myself with coffee every day in another coffee shop haha :'D
dream big

Hahaha, fair enough :) maybe I need to lower my expectations from Lamborghini to Toblerone chocolate :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73